Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Technomate tm-2200 super disqec motor.

  1. #1
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts

    Technomate tm-2200 super disqec motor.

    My motor has just decided to stop working. I have taken it to bits and can't see anything obviously wrong, everything looks nice and clean. There is power reaching it but it just seems dead.
    Any advice on replacement. (Goldwafers don't seem to sell them)

    It is for a 1m alloy dish.

  2. #2
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,574
    Thanks
    425
    Thanked 2,351 Times in 1,397 Posts
    It's difficult to get hold of a lot of things, I had to wait two months for fence panels.
    Why not contact Lee, at Goldwafers, and see what he recommends, and can source, for you.

    just to add that my parents motor stopped working, a few months back, and all it took was re-making the cable ends, even though power seemed to be getting through.
    I assume that since you had the motor removed, you tried it near your receiver, with a new piece of cable?
    Have you also checked your receiver is putting out sufficient power, as power supply units can start failing?
    Last edited by Mickha; 22-09-2021 at 04:07 PM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    Satcat (22-09-2021)

  4. #3
    Cool Dude Barney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,235
    Thanks
    4,769
    Thanked 4,239 Times in 2,029 Posts
    TM-2200 is obviously really,really old FROM 2007 ...i'd say you did well to make it last that long 10+ Years is a good run since the gears were cheap nylon it was not made to last so long .
    The Technomate TM-2600 DiSEcQ Motor is much faster and more effective with solid gears but they are in very,very limited supply
    most sellers such as Goldwafers and many more struggle very hard now to get any stock ...same story with Actuator Arms
    they are all sold out or in very short limited supply everywhere most places just sell the older TM-2300 which again is nylon gears and not as good as the TM-2600 but may do the job for a quick fix .
    There is still a few TM2600's on Flea-bay worth a try if all else fails : )

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Barney For This Useful Post:

    Satcat (22-09-2021)

  6. #4
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    I put it back together and the bloody thing lit up and started working again, but as Barney says, it is old and probably on it's last legs.
    So rather than risking put it back on my dish again I have ordered a tm2300 m3 which should be here tomorrow.

  7. #5
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    My new motor arrived this morning, so had a busy day up and down the ladder. Finally got it working on all sats (30W-45E) and then...no signal...then it would reappear before going again. It was the LNB that had come out in sympathy with the old motor. I had a old one fastened together with tape. So fitted that for now and I am back in action. I've ordered a new one. More expense.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Satcat For This Useful Post:

    Barney (23-09-2021), butchyboy (17-09-2023)

  9. #6
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,574
    Thanks
    425
    Thanked 2,351 Times in 1,397 Posts
    At least you've still got some good weather, to work in, and it will be ready for winter.

    Apparently Christmas started today, at least on 28.2E, where great classic has now changed to all Christmas movies.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    Barney (23-09-2021)

  11. #7
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    554
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 188 Times in 99 Posts
    My 2300 is still up from about the same date range, but i also have a 2600 sat on the shelf in the garage just in case.

  12. #8
    V.I.P satpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    902
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 386 Times in 188 Posts
    Technomate TM2600 No longer available they told me at Technomate last Monday non on ******* site

  13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satpaul For This Useful Post:

    Barney (28-09-2021), Satcat (01-10-2021)

  14. #9
    Verified Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    345
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 221 Times in 131 Posts
    Hello to everyone and hope you all ok in these difficult times....in my opinion the TM2600 is the best motor i have come across...I installed dozens of these motors ..its a shame that they are no longer available........Regards

  15. #10
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    The new motor I got 1 1/2 years ago has stopped working properly. I has been working good but now it moves towards where I send it, but stops before it gets there.
    I have checked all connections and can confirm that I am getting a voltage reading at the f connector at the motor end. When I press the button on the motor it moves for about 2secs then stops. Same thing when I do it from receiver. I have also reset the motor - didn't help.
    I still have my old motor in the shed. I will dig it out tomorrow and connect it to my receiver to see if that works.
    Last edited by Satcat; 13-05-2023 at 09:14 AM.

  16. #11
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    Put my old TM2200 motor back on and dish is moving as it should.
    Don't know what went wrong with the new one.

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Satcat For This Useful Post:

    Mickha (13-05-2023)

  18. #12
    V.I.P JOE.MADDISON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    982
    Thanks
    825
    Thanked 675 Times in 348 Posts
    check the reed switch

  19. #13
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    Thanks, but I don't think diseqc motors have reed switches.

  20. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Satcat For This Useful Post:

    Barney (15-05-2023), manic01 (20-05-2023)

  21. #14
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    Last week my old TM2200 stopped working so I put the TM2600 back on which has decided to work again.

    I think I have discovered why both motors were playing up. On the motor where the female connector is there is a nut that holds the connector in place and also makes the connection between the outside of the connector and the motor chassis. If it becomes slack the motor doesn't work.
    It is not easy to tighten unless you have a very thin walled, long 11mm socket, but I managed to tighten it enough with a couple of small screwdrivers.
    Last edited by Satcat; 18-09-2023 at 06:59 PM.

  22. #15
    Cool Dude Barney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    5,235
    Thanks
    4,769
    Thanked 4,239 Times in 2,029 Posts
    if you use Crimp on F Connectors it makes a far more solid connection and there is no slack in the cable.
    if any slack or corrosion or wet it can give Orange light or no light on motor .
    i have 2x 88cm Triax dishes both with TM2600 motors i got lucky and bought a couple before Technomate went bust : )
    not had any issues driving either dish the Usual standard F Connectors can be a pain to screw on tight worse still with other Disecq motors where is really hard to screw F Connectors tight as there is just no room to maneuver .

  23. #16
    V.I.P JOE.MADDISON's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    982
    Thanks
    825
    Thanked 675 Times in 348 Posts
    system sat sell Technomate motor 55 .

  24. #17
    V.I.P Satcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    709
    Thanked 656 Times in 338 Posts
    @Barney. Thanks for your advice on fitting f connectors, but it wasn't the connector on the cable I was referring to, it was the connector on the motor body.

Similar Threads

  1. Spider 6000 and disqec motor
    By fizza in forum Spiderbox 6000 HD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-12-2013, 10:35 AM
  2. Technomate 6900 super or no super
    By mariop1 in forum 6000 series
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 29-05-2012, 08:58 PM
  3. Technomate TM-2200 opinions pleas
    By Tony B2 in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-08-2008, 08:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •