Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: ZGemma H7S - worst box to setup a new dish on!!!! read on...

  1. #1
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,567
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 625 Times in 403 Posts

    ZGemma H7S - worst box to setup a new dish on!!!! read on...

    today i put up a new dish, inc motor etc....

    in the past ive successfully used E2 signal finder function...and using a whatsapp video call - one phone pointing at screen in lounge, and the other with me on ladder ...so as im adjusting i see the signal \ recpetion change in real time...

    OMG howveverm not on the H7! as soon as signal goes, it doesnt come back (graphically)....it drove me nuts at first until i worked out what was going on....

    the only way to do it, is to go to an actual channel, even then if the signal goes for too long, it doesnt come back, bizzarrely the picture remains but says signal in infobar says 0%

    massive bug!!! as usual i seem to find them out

    (bit like when blind scanning, it doesnt remove the existing channels, it creates duplicates, BUT im the only one that is bothered by this it seems)

    anyway! if your going to use this box to setup a new rig BE WARNED!!!!

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to ManikM For This Useful Post:

    Nikkas (17-06-2020)

  3.    Advert



  4. #2
    Cool Dude Nikkas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    2,166
    Thanked 683 Times in 335 Posts
    Many thanks for the insight. I'll give Zgemma a miss then.

  5. #3
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,567
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 625 Times in 403 Posts
    the actual receiver, for doing its job though is great!

    there are just a few quirks...as mentioned above....HOWEVER, this morning i've ordered an Octagon SF8008 !!! an early birthday pressie.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ManikM For This Useful Post:

    Nikkas (17-06-2020)

  7. #4
    V.I.P satpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    861
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 372 Times in 176 Posts
    The Octagon SF8008 is a good receiver

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satpaul For This Useful Post:

    ManikM (17-06-2020), Nikkas (17-06-2020)

  9. #5
    Verified Registered User Jimdefruit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 75 Times in 43 Posts
    Just use full webif and the dish can be set up for the Zgemma 7. Select a weak channel and move the dish to maximise the signal. For normal scanning there is an option to delete existing channels.

    I Just use DreamBoxEdit. Having scanned and set up the bouquets I want, I save the settings to my PC and can then just upload them to my other three images.

    The Zgemma 7 is a great box if you like to experiment with images. The only thing missing is a boot select in the bios rather than having to select a different image from "multiboot images"

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jimdefruit For This Useful Post:

    ManikM (17-06-2020), Nikkas (17-06-2020)

  11. #6
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,567
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 625 Times in 403 Posts
    i've used webif before, doesnt refresh properly, so unsuable when stuck on roof.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to ManikM For This Useful Post:

    Nikkas (17-06-2020)

  13. #7
    Cool Dude Nikkas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    618
    Thanks
    2,166
    Thanked 683 Times in 335 Posts
    Interesting coincidence here in that the Octagon SF4008 SPA images work on my DM900 (except for LCD4Linux). Hmmm. Perhaps the SF8008 is another prospect to consider then.

    Anyone know when the site sponsor is going to reopen for business?

  14. #8
    Verified Registered User Jimdefruit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 75 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ManikM View Post
    i've used webif before, doesnt refresh properly, so unsuable when stuck on roof.
    All you need to do is select the channel again on webif and it is refreshed. I did mine on the roof recently without any problems.

  15. #9
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,567
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 625 Times in 403 Posts
    not ideal when looking for signal, once it drops out, it doesnt come back! u cant keep refreshing, it needs to refresh itself when looking for signal.

    on the octagon, it was VERY reliable and helped me peak my ARC - i did use the android signal finder app though, but it communicates via webif.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to ManikM For This Useful Post:

    gbmitie (22-06-2020)

  17. #10
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    590
    Thanks
    338
    Thanked 195 Times in 131 Posts
    Can you compare pic quality with h7s and the octagon? And which is best? Does the octagon do multiboot?

  18. #11
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,567
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 625 Times in 403 Posts
    the octagon has an AMAZING feature for multiboot

    you can hold front button in, and turn on, and it takes you to a menu, from this menu you can install via the internet various images - with the slot of your choice! no having to flash an image with USB

    i never really notice picture quality from one box to another if im honest.

  19. The Following User Says Thank You to ManikM For This Useful Post:

    gbmitie (23-06-2020)

  20. #12
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,567
    Thanks
    418
    Thanked 625 Times in 403 Posts
    also the blindscan just works! and it clears the channels first unlike the zgemma!

Similar Threads

  1. Zgemma H2S - Intelsat 907 27.5 'Satback' setup?
    By technoboi in forum AirDigital Zgemma-Star H2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-10-2016, 02:30 PM
  2. Zgemma sat box setup guide .pdf
    By voyager1972 in forum AirDigital Zgemma-Star S
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-05-2016, 08:32 PM
  3. Dish setup with duo 2
    By turbonetuk in forum Vu+ Duo2 Help Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-08-2015, 05:27 PM
  4. fixed dish (2LNB's) with motorized dish setup
    By imz79 in forum Dreambox DM800HD
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15-08-2012, 02:19 PM
  5. new dish/lnb setup
    By t_chris in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-10-2009, 07:01 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •