Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: H2H Usals Diseqc motor, Dish size and weight limitations?

  1. #1
    Verified Registered User funtime26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 101 Times in 62 Posts

    H2H Usals Diseqc motor, Dish size and weight limitations?

    Here's my conundrum. I want to hopefully be able to receeve the EPL feeds on 3 West ABS-3A (assuming they start again). I can receive the 13 or so channels on that bird, Retecapris etc (and the German footie feeds when they are on there) with my USALS motor, 1.1m mesh offset and inverto black ultra with my ZGemma H9S (not so great on my Vu+ Duo2) here in the West Mids UK.

    Want to invest in a bigger dish but I want to mount it on another USALS H2H motor as they are far quieter than their polar mount counterparts and I don't want to annoy the neighbours! I have a good view of the Clarke belt so I'm gonna mount this new dish at ground level next to fence so hardly any wind loading, so I assume I'm only limited dish size wise by the antenna weight?

    I'm probably gonna buy another Technomate TM-2600 H-H Diseqc Motor as have been impressed with it on my 1.1m set up. The motor spec suggests I'm limited to 15KG load so biggest dish below 15KG hopefully? Not all about 3W though, mainly about the hobby, so if u can recommend any offset dishes (Gibertini, Laminas, MixDigital etc) that are under 15KG, or maybe a H2H motor with a greater load that would be great!

    For the record I also have a 30 year old Andrews prime focus 1.25m dish with C120 Inverto Black Ultra which I presently just use to point at Hispasat.

    Also if u in UK and have managed to received the EPL feeds at 3W...what's your set up?

    I think really I'm just after the biggest dish I can mount on a USALS H2H motor at sheltered ground level!
    Last edited by funtime26; 06-06-2020 at 11:36 AM.

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,409
    Thanks
    14,349
    Thanked 9,843 Times in 4,742 Posts
    I use a 1.1m triax dish on a darkmotor, and previously it was on a stab motor and then a technomate motor

    AFAIK you and I are at the maximum size for a diseqc motor , so for a bigger dish I believe you need a polar mount etc

    so to answer your question, I believe you are already at your maximum on a diseqc h2h motor

    good luck

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    funtime26 (07-06-2020)

  5. #3
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,833
    Thanks
    542
    Thanked 1,037 Times in 629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by funtime26 View Post
    Here's my conundrum. I want to hopefully be able to receeve the EPL feeds on 3 West ABS-3A (assuming they start again). I can receive the 13 or so channels on that bird, Retecapris etc (and the German footie feeds when they are on there) with my USALS motor, 1.1m mesh offset and inverto black ultra with my ZGemma H9S (not so great on my Vu+ Duo2) here in the West Mids UK. Want to invest in a bigger dish but I want to mount it on another USALS H2H motor as they are far quieter than their polar mount counterparts and I don't want to annoy the neighbours! I have a good view of the Clarke belt so I'm gonna mount this new dish at ground level next to fence so hardly any wind loading, so I assume I'm only limited dish size wise by the antenna weight? I'm probably gonna buy another Technomate TM-2600 H-H Diseqc Motor as have been impressed with it on my 1.1m set up. The motor spec suggests I'm limited to 15KG load so biggest dish below 15KG hopefully? Not all about 3W though, mainly about the hobby, so if u can recommend any offset dishes (Gibertini, Laminas etc) that are under 15KG, or maybe a H2H motor with a greater load that would be great!

    For the record I also have a 30 year old Andrews prime focus 1.25m dish with C120 Inverto Black Ultra which I presently just use to point at Hispasat.

    Also if u in UK and have managed to received the EPL feeds at 3W...what's your set up? I think really I'm just after the biggest dish I can mount on a USALS H2H motor at ground level!
    if sheltered you could get away with a gibby 1.2, all dishes over 1.1 with be to heavy, factor in wind load and it will end up ripping the motor arm off in a nasty storm. You might get away with it in a sheltered ground location though. I would just stick the old prime focus on 3w as its over kill for hispasat.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to 3tv For This Useful Post:

    funtime26 (05-06-2020)

  7. #4
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,409
    Thanks
    14,349
    Thanked 9,843 Times in 4,742 Posts
    I use a sly zone 2 for hispasat, further north too , almost anything will do for 30 west

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    funtime26 (05-06-2020), manic01 (06-06-2020)

  9. #5
    In the beeches
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    990
    Thanks
    423
    Thanked 356 Times in 223 Posts
    Before investing time and money in any new set up check out this thread Does anyone receive 3 west feeds - here satpimps.co.uk/showthread.php?177819

    It is very hit and miss whether you can get the 3w EPL feeds. Some weeks the signal is strong, but most weeks they can't be received unless you have at least 1.5meter dish.

    I am just north west of London with a 1.2metre Channel Master dish and I got very few of the 3w feeds reported so far this season.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Burnham For This Useful Post:

    echelon (06-06-2020)

  11. #6
    V.I.P malsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
    I modified a 1.2 Gibertini and ground ,mounted with TM motor.
    never a problem in 10 yrs

  12. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to malsat For This Useful Post:

    3tv (07-06-2020), echelon (06-06-2020), funtime26 (06-06-2020)

  13. #7
    Verified Registered User funtime26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 101 Times in 62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by m***** View Post
    I modified a 1.2 Gibertini and ground ,mounted with TM motor.
    never a problem in 10 yrs
    Good to know M*****, thanks.

    As my TM motor ground mount will be in such a sheltered part on my garden (in corner with 7 foot fence either side) with a good view of Clarke Belt I am toying with mounting this Mixdigital 1.4m solid dish that weighs in at 15.2KG with mount (Think the Gibertini aluminum OP125 weighs in at 16.5KG) . The Technomate TM-2600 motor recommends up to 15KG, so as in sheltered spot I don't think I'd be pushing it too much.

    Just don't want a polar mount really as just too noisy and don't want to annoy the neighbours!

    Need something to spend my time on in these strange times as I can't go to the pub!

    mixdigital_solid_120cm_130cm_140cm_satellite_dish (1).jpg
    Last edited by funtime26; 07-06-2020 at 11:48 AM.

  14. #8
    V.I.P malsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    221
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 22 Times in 15 Posts
    20200607_114303.jpg20200607_114200.jpg20200607_114212.jpg
    Netting makes no difference to signal
    Last edited by malsat; 07-06-2020 at 12:40 PM.

  15. #9
    Verified Registered User funtime26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 101 Times in 62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by m***** View Post
    Netting makes no difference to signal
    Wow brilliant mate. Looks like some expert topiary rather than a satellite dish!

    Looking at the specs and particularly the gain on both the Gibertini OP125 and MaxDigital 1.4m there really isn't much difference and going by the build quality and reputation of the Gibertini I could be swaying toward the Gibertini. Maybe size isn't everything on this occasion.

    My existing 1.1m attached to a scaffold pole on my brick shed can see as far East as Azerspace1 46E...probably further... and as far West as Intelsat 907 27.5W where Hispasat 30W is annoyingly blocked by my neighbours chimney!

    I suppose I should swing my old Andrews prime focus 1.25m dish to 3 West (as likely this already has similar gain to ones I'm thinking of buying (be it a bit aged now) and see if that works, and if so just use a sly zone 2 for Hispasat (anyone using a zone 1 for Hispasat in West Mids?) as echelon suggeested.

  16. #10
    Cool Dude ManikM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,610
    Thanks
    420
    Thanked 640 Times in 411 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by m***** View Post
    20200607_114303.jpg20200607_114200.jpg20200607_114212.jpg
    Netting makes no difference to signal
    wow - cant beleive that doesnt impede signal...

  17. #11
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,833
    Thanks
    542
    Thanked 1,037 Times in 629 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by funtime26 View Post
    Good to know M*****, thanks.

    As my TM motor ground mount will be in such a sheltered part on my garden (in corner with 7 foot fence either side) with a good view of Clarke Belt I am toying with mounting this Mixdigital 1.4m solid dish that weighs in at 15.2KG with mount (Think the Gibertini aluminum OP125 weighs in at 16.5KG) . The Technomate TM-2600 motor recommends up to 15KG, so as in sheltered spot I don't think I'd be pushing it too much.

    Just don't want a polar mount really as just too noisy and don't want to annoy the neighbours!

    Need something to spend my time on in these strange times as I can't go to the pub!

    mixdigital_solid_120cm_130cm_140cm_satellite_dish (1).jpg
    i think the gibby is way more that 15kg the plate ally but the bracket is steel.

  18. #12
    Verified Registered User funtime26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    165
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 101 Times in 62 Posts
    Here's the specs of the Gibby OP125L and OP125LP from Gibertini Website. Think you are right. Looks just like the antenna weight without mount. I assume that's what "Net weight without package" means?

    OP125L.jpg OP125LP.jpg

    So sounds like DiSEqC motors will take a bit more weight at ground level with low wind load in sheltered area.
    Last edited by funtime26; 11-06-2020 at 07:21 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Going to use USALS instead of DiSEqC 1.2
    By rasp in forum Vu+ Solo2 Help Section
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2015, 05:20 PM
  2. Largest dish on a Diseqc motor ?
    By dostoy in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-07-2008, 08:53 PM
  3. im confused diseqc 1.2 h-h motor usals
    By carol1869 in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-10-2007, 11:23 AM
  4. USALS or DiSEqC 1.2
    By DonRandy in forum Visionnet
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-01-2007, 05:50 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •