Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Long time running!

  1. #1
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 155 Times in 102 Posts

    Long time running!

    Hi Guys,
    Bought my 7020 about 2011/12ish and has been great but it has now crashed out, and the usual easy start isnt available. It will not reboot - just staying on the opening screen, and trying to flash an image online wont work either.iT could be that we have just had to change up the router and therefore I cant set the router's address to the box - or it might just be dead. However, it does seem to do what is expected when STOP comes up and a new box address is there - any ideas please? - thanks for any help - Brain

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Black Hole Team sonic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,887
    Thanks
    4,579
    Thanked 3,280 Times in 1,495 Posts
    It will be the router change, do you have a crossover cable you can connect to direct from your PC ?

  4. #3
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 155 Times in 102 Posts
    Hi Sonic,
    Hope you are keeping well - thank you - I will try that if I can recognise the difference between crossover and standard!! We have a very old listed house and ethernet cables and TPlink are the way to traverse/go through thick walls!! Cheers - Brain

  5. #4
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,328
    Thanks
    392
    Thanked 2,230 Times in 1,307 Posts
    A crossover ethernet cable is just wired differently. They were used years ago, before fast routers, so that you could connect directly, from dreambox to PC, and various other reasons, mainly for gaming, but also to work on older dreamboxes.
    Code:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ethernet_crossover_cable
    You can still buy them, quite cheaply, or even make your own.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    brain (18-05-2020), sonic1 (19-05-2020)

  7. #5
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    905
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 155 Times in 102 Posts
    I have now tried just about everything - I just cannot get the computer to talk to the once it is locked on for flashing. IP address has changed twice - [thank you EE for making us have a new router and four routers later telling us perhaps we ought to have the older one back!!]
    In no way can I get the screen on my computer to flash the box - crossover/direct connections/etc., and I am wondering about factory reset but it is just impossible to connect with it now - even tried usb flashing. Ah well - at least the even older DB8000HD is rejuvenated and still working. Cheer guys - Brain

Similar Threads

  1. Long time
    By aslat in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-10-2011, 12:25 PM
  2. Long Long time no seeeeeeee
    By Agent16f in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2011, 09:21 PM
  3. Long time !!
    By zaphex in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-12-2009, 07:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •