Thread: Diseqc and quad LNB switching problem

V.I.P
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,531 Times in 1,083 Posts

Diseqc and quad LNB switching problem

I've been using a 4 way diseqc switch (aa,ab,ba,bb) for many years without problems (Dreambox 7000s).

I wanted to share a dish with other system so have replaced a single LNB with a quad LNB. However, this new LNB takes over control of the diseqc switch. It will not allow switching to the other dishes.

ATM the quad LNB is simple acting as a single LNB as I have not connected to the other system at all. It is a Zinwell ZKF-BJ44.

It works fine alone and if removed then I can automatically switch between the other dishes. However, when it is connected again switching stops.

Any ideas anyone?

TIA

Thanks
    In theory the 4 outputs from the quad lnb should be independent (it is a quad lnb and not a quattro ?). If there is some kind of cross-talk effect going on then it's either a wiring fault or a faulty lnb. Unless you need 4 outputs it might be worthwhile changing to a twin output lnb. Have you tried connecting the other system to one of the other outputs on the lnb ?.

V.I.P
    Thanks
    I've now connected this quad LNB/dish to my other (second) system and automatic switching works fine between all four dishes. I'm using a diseqc 1.2 switch

However, on the first system it seems like there is some cross-talk and this LNB takes over control. I've tried two different outputs from it and re-done the F-connectors on both ends.

It is an old diseqc switch and I'm not sure what version (I've tried 1.0 , 1.1 and 1.2 in the dreambox set-up - all with the same result).

The new quad LNB is on the 19e dish and all works OK on here. However, if I switch to the 13e dish/channel eg novacinema 1 - no switching occurs. But if I zap to novacinema 3 then it switches OK. The strange thing is both these channels are the same polarity and high band. I do not understand why this should happen!

Anything else i can try?

Thanks