Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Channel master dish not following arc correctly

Thanks
    Thanked 6,192 Times in 1,181 Posts

Channel master dish not following arc correctly

I have a channel master 1.2 meter dish with a c/m polar mount, jaegar 12 ins actuator & its fixed on a 3 ins dia pole/ ground mount

Previously was using it with jaegar 128 h-h motor & it followed the arc perfectly

Its been lined up to to bbc world @ thor 1 west & picks up 13 16 19 & 28 east & up to 11 west on other side

If i adjust it up/down- i then get the missing ones on the east side -******* hellasat & arbsat but not the west ones & vice versa. If i line up to 30 west it then misses the east sats

Ive been scratching my head on this one for weeks- i know its something simple but cant put my finger on it

Ive checked the pole from the ground mount & its straight according to the spirit level

Dish on ground mount is approx 2 foot off floor - previously it was on a scafford pole approx 5 foot off ground

Any advice would be most welcome

V.I.P
    Thanks
    if there is no obstruction trees ect you need to look at your dish probably you're alignment is off a little bit

V.I.P
    Thanks
    double check your 1W reference. It is very easy to be slightly off, mainly because it's not easy to line up two points 1cm apart.
    I struggled for ages with a 1224 alignment, mainly because of judging half degree, and probably using the wrong eye !!

Thanks
    Was the top of the pole flat so the mount is upright on the pole? It sounds out of level to me.
    Set it to due south, place a level under the dish an measure down from each side arm at the dish mount, should be the same.
    Or;
    Is it centred on due south, only a small bit out will change the arc.

When i got mine dead right i drilled and pinned it to the pole, that was over 15yrs ago and its still perfect.

Dont forget you have 2 adjusters the top works with the back to adjust the arc,

Thanks
    Hi there,