Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 86

Thread: Twin lnb

  1. #41
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    you could use an a-b switch to switch between the monoblock and the diseqc switch , or use 2 receivers like me

  2.    Advert



  3. #42
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    318
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
    >echelon ..is there such a thing as a remote-controlled a-b switch..I have a (rather clunky) manual one already..but too lazy to get up an switch inputs!

  4. #43
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    no idea m8

    I havent seen or heard of one , but you would think that something should exist

    I have always thought that perhaps there could have been a switch operated by the 12 volt output , and so with it off it could be on A and with it on it could be on B

    but as I say its not something I have seen or dealt with


    as for my system , I have now replaced most of the lnb,s with cheap sly quads and have a tm1500 on an 8 way diseqc switch and a tm9100 on a 4 way diseqc switch

  5. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by echelon View Post
    as for my system , I have now replaced most of the lnb,s with cheap sly quads and have a tm1500 on an 8 way diseqc switch and a tm9100 on a 4 way diseqc switch
    echelon

    What you do with your old LNB's and have you got any old twin's?

    Also I just realised something about your setup, unless I not read it right.

    You said as you look left it increases E e.g 42e 19e 13e.

    Was this looking from the front of the dish? as I have 19e to the left and 13e to the right.

    The other question I forgot to ask was, how do you work out, how far the next LNB goes and also how you increase the height to compensate.

    I may just fork out for a new dish with a multi-arm and new cables as my dish has been up for over 10 years with the cables.

    Probably why it has a round arm.

    Pity the sponsors here don't do twin lnbs and multi setups.

    Thanks

  6. #45
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    I never had any twin universal lnb,s but I threw the old analogue ones out years ago




    in my picture it shows them from the front , and from right to left its hotbird , astra1 , astra2 and turk sat

    post 29 actually says this m8

    and so from left to right its:---

    42e , 28e , 19e , 13e , with the dish focussed onto 13e hotbird






    you move the lnb,s up and down the rack until you get a picture on screen and check the signal level ( I used a tm1500 for this )

    then do the rest

    the arm/rack is preset to the correct angle but I had to extend the lnb arm to get it right

    you can get a triax td110 dish and get the triax multi-lnb holder for it which is fully adjustable

  7. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by echelon View Post
    I never had any twin universal lnb,s but I threw the old analogue ones out years ago




    in my picture it shows them from the front , and from right to left its hotbird , astra1 , astra2 and turk sat

    post 29 actually says this m8

    and so from left to right its:---

    42e , 28e , 19e , 13e , with the dish focussed onto 13e hotbird






    you move the lnb,s up and down the rack until you get a picture on screen and check the signal level ( I used a tm1500 for this )

    then do the rest

    the arm/rack is preset to the correct angle but I had to extend the lnb arm to get it right

    you can get a triax td110 dish and get the triax multi-lnb holder for it which is fully adjustable

    That's why I wanted to make sure, and I think where I am confused is that the holders I have seen have two lnb's either side, which I presume is to give balance.

    Your setup has all 4 lnb's on one side, so lighter lnb's are needed I presume?

    My current lnb's are at least 5 years old and semi-heavy.

    I'll look around tomorrow for a holder.

    Thanks

  8. #47
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    I have heard of ppl centreing the dish onto astra1 , but I found hotbird to be better for me and it still works a treat even though it is heavier on the left looking from the front of the dish

    balancing the lnb,s wherever possible would be a good idea if it can be done , so I would have preferred it that way

    and I have now fitted 3 heavier sly quad lnb,s on the right hand 3 ( not turk sat on the extreme left ) and it still works fine so the arm can take the weight ok

    my way works , but may not be ideal as far as weight etc

  9. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Icon10

    Quote Originally Posted by echelon View Post
    I have heard of ppl centreing the dish onto astra1 , but I found hotbird to be better for me and it still works a treat even though it is heavier on the left looking from the front of the dish

    balancing the lnb,s wherever possible would be a good idea if it can be done , so I would have preferred it that way

    and I have now fitted 3 heavier sly quad lnb,s on the right hand 3 ( not turk sat on the extreme left ) and it still works fine so the arm can take the weight ok

    my way works , but may not be ideal as far as weight etc
    Yep your way works and is a inspiration for me.

    All I can think of is that you've taken alot of time and work on it and when something like that works, you don't want to change it so I just wanted to say thanks for all your input.

    I'll go through my system, little by little as I really want to rewire my boxes and AV stuff, but takes me months to move it around the room.

    Got so much stuff and scarts, scart boxes, cables, connections to the PC it a nightmare thinking about it.

    Least the outside dish side will be easier to sort, but need to make sure I do it quick as my mum watches her regular soaps and drama on one of the Sats and will kill me if she misses any

    Thanks again

  10. #49
    Senior Member CROSSBONES's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    213
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
    Excellent results and pics echelon

    Makes super fast channel hoping

  11. #50
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks to u echelon, i now have 13 , 19.2 , 28.2 on my 80cm, was using a monoblock and an lnb off old sky dish, supported the 28.2 lnb with a piece of wood to the arm, and bingo, only thing is i need to get 4way switch instead of going out and plugging the feed into lnb for 28.2,,,thought i was stuck with 13/19 till i read this,,cheers

  12. #51
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    if you are still using the monoblock then using a 4 waydiseqc switch may not work as you are cascading 2 diseqc switches , so in that case you will need a manual a-b switch instead , or a different receiver if you want to use 2 and not 1

  13. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    was just about to purchase a 4x1 DiSEqC Switch, when u say manual, would i have to still go outside(have dish on my washing line pole just now lol) and flip the switch mate? i have here a ADX plus (switch thingy i picked up at car booty) and a 2x1 DISEqC, no good as i tried the 2x1 looking to pick up 3 sats, i have a dreambox 600pvr reciever, might just buy a motor,,lol, liked ur way though, only need the 3 sats,,cheers

    (only wanted one line coming into house, if i buy a manual switch, will i need 2 feeds?)
    Last edited by flickster; 18-07-2007 at 11:46 PM.

  14. #53
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    2 feeds for manual switch ( or for 2 receivers )

    ideally you want a rack like mine and have 1 cable going to the 4 way switch behind the dish , with 3 or 4 cables from the switch to the lnb,s

  15. #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    k mate,,thanx for ur help,,single lnb's it is then, and a 4xswitch,,get tomm,,cheers

  16. #55
    V.I.P Detlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,174
    Thanks
    591
    Thanked 1,662 Times in 982 Posts
    That well known German supermarket his about to have very cheap 80cm dishes.

    I did check that Pimps main sponsor does not sell dishes before posting this.

  17. #56
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    tried a zone 2 dish today on 15 west and it worked fine after adjusting the skew !!!

  18. #57
    V.I.P abr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    just seen some very cheap 80 cms dishes at L**l's

  19. #58
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,160
    Thanks
    13,208
    Thanked 9,350 Times in 4,544 Posts
    some more pictures of my two sly zone 2 dishes ,

    one dish in pictures 1 to 4 focussed on hotbird with 42e , 28e , 19e and 13e with one standard lnb and 3 sly quad lnb,s,

    the other dish in the last picture on 30w with a sly quad lnb ( notice the heavy lnb skew anti-clockwise on this one )
    Attached Images Attached Images

  20. #59
    Cool Dude NeasdenNW10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Very nice indeed.
    I think that I will stick to my motor though.
    Parky

  21. #60
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    540
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 138 Times in 101 Posts

    Icon10

    did you ever set up that triax 4 lnb holdr on the 1.1m?/

    gbmitie

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •