Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Unable To Load Image After Software Update.

  1. #1
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 76 Times in 27 Posts

    Unable To Load Image After Software Update.

    Updated my non clone VU+Solo 2 with latest software update and I'm unable to load a new image, stb stays on "Starting". Is there a way to force the box to load a new image from a fob? I've tried a couple of fobs so I guess the problem isn't with that. Any idea appreciated.

    Best wishes from,

    Gibson.

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Super Moderator saintomer1866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,601
    Thanks
    4,510
    Thanked 7,638 Times in 2,367 Posts
    Yes,
    Power off the stb and disconnect any usb devices attached to the rear,
    plug in your usb stick, with the image you wish to flash, in the front usb slot (under the flap) and power on the stb.
    when the front (blue) power button starts flashing touch it and it will load the new image.



    St.O

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to saintomer1866 For This Useful Post:

    gibson (09-11-2019), Nikkas (11-11-2019), sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  5. #3
    V.I.P Dark Cloud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    946
    Thanks
    581
    Thanked 356 Times in 233 Posts
    used to happen to me,....and I had forgotten a usb stick inserted at the rear.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dark Cloud For This Useful Post:

    Nikkas (11-11-2019), saintomer1866 (10-11-2019)

  7. #4
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 76 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for the replies, but I have tried both front usb and back and it will not "pickup" the fob download. The fob shows the image has been stored and has been FAT32 programmed. Is there anyway the set top box can be over rode to force a download.

    Best wishes from,

    Gibson.

  8. #5
    Verified Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    96
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 25 Times in 16 Posts
    I have found using different usb sticks can help. Some usb sticks don,t like the image try loading image on another usb stick.

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to satfred For This Useful Post:

    gibson (10-11-2019), saintomer1866 (10-11-2019), sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  10. #6
    Super Moderator saintomer1866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,601
    Thanks
    4,510
    Thanked 7,638 Times in 2,367 Posts
    Just to check,
    you should have an unzipped vuplus folder on the usb stick containing another folder named solo2 which in turn contains the image files.
    If that is all correct then does the text on the stb front display show "Update !" a few seconds after turning on stb ?
    if not you will need to do as suggested above and try various usb sticks



    St.O

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to saintomer1866 For This Useful Post:

    Nikkas (11-11-2019), sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  12. #7
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,887
    Thanks
    2,819
    Thanked 7,197 Times in 2,934 Posts
    Cheap as chips are the best for this. The cheapest sticks you can get your hands on are usually the only ones that will work. More expensive ones usually wont flash the box.

    I must have tried 10 different ones and only 1 will work. I just keep this stick now for this purpose alone.

    Ian.

  13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ian For This Useful Post:

    saintomer1866 (10-11-2019), sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  14. #8
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 76 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for all the replies. I have tried a couple of usb sticks, but no luck so far. Unfortunately the box does not show "Update" as it once used to. Is there any other way to flash this box maybe via I Dream?

    Best wishes from,

    Gibson.

  15. #9
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,245
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 2,090 Times in 1,234 Posts
    Which image are you trying to load?

  16. #10
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,887
    Thanks
    2,819
    Thanked 7,197 Times in 2,934 Posts
    It should say "Reading USB" in the display before it shows "Update"

    If it does not show this then the answer is obvious, the USB cannot be read and therefore you need to find one that can.

    Ian.

  17. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ian For This Useful Post:

    gibson (10-11-2019), sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  18. #11
    Verified Registered User Jimdefruit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 63 Times in 37 Posts
    Possibly stating the obvious but have you got the correct image for the box on your usb stick. Also I had this problem a while back and found it necessary to also disconnect the LAN cable.

  19. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jimdefruit For This Useful Post:

    gibson (10-11-2019), sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  20. #12
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,245
    Thanks
    374
    Thanked 2,090 Times in 1,234 Posts
    I found that I had to remove the USB wireless keyboard adapter, I had installed, before some images would load.
    It would help greatly if you could post which image you are trying to load, and check the vuplus folder, as this should confirm that the image is for your receiver, and not something similar like the VU+ Solo, or VU+ Solo SE v2.

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    sonic1 (10-11-2019)

  22. #13
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    366
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 76 Times in 27 Posts
    I have tried various images to load onto the box, but the one I prefer is ATV 6.3. This image, ATV 6.2, has worked well for me the past 12 months, only gone west over the past two weeks and crashed completely on software update which I orchestrated in hopes to resurrect a problem free image. How wrong can you be. Again, all suggestions welcomed.

    Best wishes from,

    Gibson.

  23. #14
    Black Hole Team sonic1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,850
    Thanks
    4,487
    Thanked 3,338 Times in 1,535 Posts
    Remove everything except the power cable, USB devices, HDD, CAM, etc.

    Then as already stated get a cheap as you can USB device, do not use a branded one, then just make sure you unzip the image so you just have the vuplus folder on your USB, make sure there is nothing else.

    There is nothing wrong with your STB, it will be your USB or something you are doing wrong for sure.

  24. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sonic1 For This Useful Post:

    gibson (11-11-2019), ian (11-11-2019), Nikkas (11-11-2019), saintomer1866 (11-11-2019)

  25. #15
    Cool Dude Nikkas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    569
    Thanks
    2,006
    Thanked 593 Times in 302 Posts
    Dicky USB port? Fluff in it? Try one of the rear ones instead but as already stated make sure nothing else is plugged into the other USB ports AND also, most importantly structure of the folder on the stick.

  26. The Following User Says Thank You to Nikkas For This Useful Post:

    gibson (12-11-2019)

  27. #16
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,499
    Thanks
    2,893
    Thanked 3,879 Times in 1,787 Posts
    Download the HP flash tool, this will properly format your usb stick to FAT32 (sometimes windows does not do this correctly).

    This will "usually" sort this issue out.

  28. The Following User Says Thank You to CokeAddict For This Useful Post:

    gibson (12-11-2019)

Similar Threads

  1. Is there an image I can load please?
    By doubleudee in forum Vu+ Duo2 Help Section
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-02-2018, 01:41 PM
  2. s4000 f/w .35 unable to load
    By buck401 in forum ICECRYPT
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-08-2011, 04:17 PM
  3. Unable To Load Channel List On DM800 Clone.
    By gibson in forum Newbie Dreambox Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 13-03-2011, 01:28 PM
  4. gt time trial ,unable to load game ??
    By cosworth4x4 in forum PS3
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-2010, 02:36 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •