Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 51 of 51

Thread: re-aligning motorized dish

  1. #41
    Cool Dude holmroad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,891
    Thanks
    3,700
    Thanked 1,755 Times in 1,164 Posts
    Only thing about your very sensible theory echelon is that fozzer12's first post in this interesting thread suggests that he may have had 'normal' coverage prior to a possible excessive wind event - so if your theory is correct and his set up was therefore already upside down at that time too, he would logically gain nothing by reversing it now?

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to holmroad For This Useful Post:

    echelon (12-08-2019)

  3.    Advert



  4. #42
    Verified Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    301
    Thanks
    61
    Thanked 181 Times in 111 Posts
    Hi...Have you tried to skew the LNB..ie twist it left or right to see if you get a picture on the missing sats. Also check the azimuth settings...this is the gap between the motor tail and the dish..if you are getting the east and not the west then you need to raise the gap ..in my experience in setting up motors over the years the main points to remember are:
    1) LNB - make sure you have correct setting..LNB's dont work the same way for everybody due to different setups.
    2)Azimuth angle settings..you need to adjust the gap between motor tail and dish bracket.
    3) Correct transponder frequencies- for every satellite i always have a FTA channel as channel one..this makes it easier to see if a signal is picked up as dish is moving.
    The good thing about USALS is that its very accurate in finding satellites once the first satellite is setup..it dont matter which satellite you start with ..i always prefer to start with an east satellite like 39 east and then go to 30 west and tweak it if required...once you get these two satellites then you should be on the arc. I have learned over many years that to motorize a dish you need common sense and patience .....Regards

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to KARABANGA For This Useful Post:

    echelon (12-08-2019)

  6. #43
    Verified Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    I put my postcode in dish pointer and get this should i use the motorized option or select thor. also how would I input these lat and long readings


    Latitude: 53.3647
    Longitude: -2.8363

    Satellite: ****************** Motorized ********************************* **
    Elevation: 30.0
    Azimuth (true): 57.3
    Azimuth (magn.): 57.3

  7. #44
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,365
    Thanks
    14,236
    Thanked 9,776 Times in 4,714 Posts
    latitude and longitude are used for usals only

    go into your menu , setup , tuners - tuner setup (or whatever it says depending on the installed image)

    Configuration Mode = Simple
    Mode = Positioner
    Longitude = 002.836
    West
    Latitude = 053.365
    North

    Extra Options = No
    Force Legacy No


    I still believe your dish mounting bracket has been installed upside down, hence why you are looking on the right side and not the left side

    that bracket is not universal, it has a top and a bottom, it is not rectangular either , see post #40 on page 2
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    holmroad (13-08-2019)

  9. #45
    Verified Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

    lost quality on astra 19e

    Hi I got 30w back after losing it but on astra 19e have lost quality its about 55% was getting about 80% tried tweaking with the receiver but no joy. what can I do to get the quality higher without losing other sat thanks

  10. #46
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,222
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 2,065 Times in 1,218 Posts
    What are your quality readings on 16E and 13E?
    Did you manage to get 13.5E and 28.2E back?

    If the dish still isn't tracking the arc, correctly, and losing satellites to the East, then you need to send it back to 0.8W, make some minor adjustments, to the bracket, and keep testing, by sending it to 30W, and 19.2E, and checking the signal quality levels.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    echelon (14-08-2019)

  12. #47
    Verified Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    60
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    is it possible to tweak the quality on 19e with the dish and peak it to its best or will this knock my other sats out gone back to diseq now

  13. #48
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,222
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 2,065 Times in 1,218 Posts
    Tweaking to get a better signal on 19.2E will affect all other satellites, more to the West.
    The only real method is take the motor to 0.8W, closest to your True South, Longitude, then adjust your motor bracket, then dish bracket, to maximise the signal quality, then send the dish to 30W, check the signal quality, then furthest East, depending on line of sight, and keep making minor adjustments until you're satisfied.

    Which satellite can you get to the furthest East? 42E, 52E?
    What are your signal quality readings, on 13E and 16E?
    If 19.2E is now only 55% you might not even be able to get 16E.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    echelon (14-08-2019)

  15. #49
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,504
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 1,214 Times in 652 Posts
    The big enemy of dishes installed in gardens are trees and other foliage, at this time of year with sun and rain together they grow at a furious pace, half the work in my back garden is clearing the dish from plant and tree growth.

    Last week I lost Astra 1 reception on a small dish, a creeper had rapped itself around the feedhorn, a tree pruner soon had it going

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to TonyO For This Useful Post:

    Barney (15-08-2019)

  17. #50
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,365
    Thanks
    14,236
    Thanked 9,776 Times in 4,714 Posts
    as mentioned earlier , all this is to do with you tracking the arc corrctly, so I have merged your threads

    alter for one satellite alters everything else as well , so tracking the arc correctly is the only way to fix this across each and every satellite , from 42 east through thor to 30 west, including everything in between

    altering your dish for astra at 19e will cause you issues elsewhere , altering those issues does the same again, its a knock on effect

    my previous comments still stand and once you have fixed the dish mount and arc you will find all of them will work both in USALS and also in disecqc v1.2 as well

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    Barney (15-08-2019)

  19. #51
    V.I.P malsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    214
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fozzer12 View Post
    Hi its not a great picture but i can see lines down pole possible its original position?Attachment 68711

    what do you think?
    just looks like rust run marks,
    Have you had a spirit level on the pole ?
    first thing you should do is check its plumb!

  20. The Following User Says Thank You to malsat For This Useful Post:

    Barney (15-08-2019)

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. help with re-aligning satellite dish
    By ajp in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27-03-2018, 02:57 PM
  2. Re-Aligning Dish
    By Scream in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 04:02 PM
  3. fixed dish (2LNB's) with motorized dish setup
    By imz79 in forum Dreambox DM800
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15-08-2012, 02:19 PM
  4. Does my dish need re-aligning?
    By SatSearcher in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-01-2007, 10:30 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •