Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: which receiver?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    which receiver?

    Need a new receiver ccam able would appreciate recommendations.

    Thanks

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    V.I.P manic01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,258
    Thanks
    1,939
    Thanked 3,113 Times in 1,524 Posts
    Linux or non linux?
    Hd or 4k?
    How many tuners?
    Iptv or not?

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to manic01 For This Useful Post:

    echelon (01-08-2018)

  5. #3
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,472
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 1,168 Times in 633 Posts
    Whats working well should be the main requirement, not much working well at home at the mo.
    Last edited by TonyO; 01-08-2018 at 11:23 AM.

  6. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    HD should be fine for my requirements. Easiest to "adapt" would be great. Thanks for replying.

  7. #5
    V.I.P oscar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    669
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked 345 Times in 157 Posts
    I'll watch this thread with interest as my trusty Technomate 1500CI+ is getting a bit long in the tooth.
    Regards

  8. #6
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,069
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 1,865 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Easiest to adapt?
    Do you mean add a line, add keys, etc?
    If so I doubt you'll want an Enigma 2 receiver, even though once set up you can use it for almost anything, including Kodi.

    What kind of budget, do you wish to spend?

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    Dig Deep (14-08-2018), echelon (01-08-2018)

  10. #7
    Cool Dude Nikkas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    476
    Thanks
    1,625
    Thanked 449 Times in 239 Posts
    Wouldn't recommend a Sat receiver now unless you are or intend to go motorized. If the latter then I'd go for E2 based but nothing too expensive given where this 'hobby' seems to be heading.

  11. #8
    Super Moderator saintomer1866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    3,860
    Thanked 6,867 Times in 2,133 Posts
    Well worth the effort of getting your head around the E2 box's
    everything you need to know is already here on pimps, and none of it is rocket science.

    For a really great budget E2 box I have no hesitation in recommending the VU Zero 4K, fantastic box for the money.
    https://www.goldwafers.com/vu-zero-4...-receiver.html

    As said above get a motor if you don't already have one so at least you can get some sat that's still available
    There's a couple of FTA 4k channels you can get including NasaTV on 13e and TRT on 42e plus a couple more if you have the means to open them

    It works great with IPTV including the unofficial X264 (instead of X265) encoded stuff
    You can run Kodi on it (just install it from addons)

    It has a DVB-S2X Multistream Tuner which enables you to open some extra channels around the arc inc some nice ones on 5w (again if you have the means of doing so.)

    So more TV and Media than you can shake a stick at !




    St.O
    Last edited by saintomer1866; 01-08-2018 at 07:49 PM.

  12. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to saintomer1866 For This Useful Post:

    echelon (01-08-2018), hda5 (02-08-2018), jovie (02-08-2018), mpmm (16-08-2018), mrdude (16-08-2018), Nikkas (02-08-2018)

  13. #9
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    473
    Thanks
    331
    Thanked 119 Times in 81 Posts
    If you don't want the grief of getting a linux box....just get a technomate 5402 M3

    I got a VU Zero 4K 3 months back because i wanted a 4k box....bit of a mare learning things like how to add biss for sports feeds....if you don't need 4k keep it simple with a technomate or similiar.

    Ps. in fairness on this new Vero k4 box Oscam works miles better than cccam did....sly de and bt sd in particular....also from a watching and recording point everything PQ wise is flawless.
    Last edited by tigertimtim; 02-08-2018 at 02:30 PM.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to tigertimtim For This Useful Post:

    manic01 (14-08-2018)

  15. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry for not coming back earlier, travelling around for work. Thanks to everyone for the feedback. Unable to motorize but have dual Astra/Hotbird. Looking for a not extremely expensive receiver that will enable me to input lines. From responses I take it that technomate 5402 M3, the E2 (page not found on the link) and the VU Zero 4k could be used. Never heard of Oscam, where can I get some info on this?

  16. #11
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,069
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 1,865 Times in 1,114 Posts
    Oscam is an Emulator, similar to CCcam.
    You can read up on it in the Emulator help section:
    http://www.satpimps.co.uk/forumdispl...-Emulator-Help

    Do you want a receiver you can install an internal hard drive, for recording, and dual tuners, so that you can record one channel and view others?

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    echelon (13-08-2018)

  18. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The receiver with dual tuner and HardDisk sounds good. However not sure if it would work since I have a small dual lnb dish which feeds a single cable into the house. Would this be possible? - Thanks for the link.

  19. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Different questioner, similar question, hope the OP doesn't mind me piggy-backing.
    Quote Originally Posted by saintomer1866 View Post
    Well worth the effort of getting your head around the E2 box's
    everything you need to know is already here on pimps, and none of it is rocket science.
    Can you point us at good places to begin, please? It's been years since I messed about much with linux-dvb and I feel a bit lost.

    Quote Originally Posted by saintomer1866 View Post
    For a really great budget E2 box I have no hesitation in recommending the VU Zero 4K, fantastic box for the money.
    https://www.goldwafers.com/vu-zero-4...-receiver.html [...] It has a DVB-S2X Multistream Tuner which enables you to open some extra channels around the arc inc some nice ones on 5w (again if you have the means of doing so.)
    I don't particularly need 4K yet but I am very keen on multistream to get 5w back. Is there a cheaper HD option which can still do it (the VU Zero Full HD doesn't mention multistream so I suspect it can't - there appear to be two similar-priced ZGemma boxes H9S and H5.2S on other sites which might) or should I just suck it up and pay the extra 50?
    Last edited by mpmm; 16-08-2018 at 01:54 PM.

  20. #14
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    473
    Thanks
    331
    Thanked 119 Times in 81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mpmm View Post
    Different questioner, similar question, hope the OP doesn't mind me piggy-backing.

    Can you point us at good places to begin, please? It's been years since I messed about much with linux-dvb and I feel a bit lost.


    I don't particularly need 4K yet but I am very keen on multistream to get 5w back. Is there a cheaper HD option which can still do it (the VU Zero Full HD doesn't mention multistream so I suspect it can't - there appear to be two similar-priced ZGemma boxes H9S and H5.2S on other sites which might) or should I just suck it up and pay the extra 50?
    VU zero 4k box does multistream and opens the 5 west channels

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to tigertimtim For This Useful Post:

    saintomer1866 (16-08-2018)

  22. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tigertimtim View Post
    VU zero 4k box does multistream and opens the 5 west channels
    Thanks but I'd figured that out from saintomer1866's post. Do the zero Full HD, ZGemma H9S or H5.2S and is the 4k worth the 50 extra over them when I'll probably have no 4k display during this box's lifetime?

  23. #16
    Super Moderator saintomer1866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    3,860
    Thanked 6,867 Times in 2,133 Posts
    @mpmm,
    a good starting point would be here;
    http://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread...-up-Vu-Solo-4K
    although its for the solo 4k which has 2 tuners (zero 4k has one) it's the same procedure, in fact you could probably use a vu solo2 or vu zero setup guide, lol


    St.O

    edit: No the Zero HD has a DVB-S2 tuner so cannot open multistream channels, I don't know about the Zgemma's but if they have a DVB-S2X tuner then yes, if not no.
    Last edited by saintomer1866; 16-08-2018 at 05:15 PM.

  24. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to saintomer1866 For This Useful Post:

    mpmm (16-08-2018), Nikkas (17-08-2018)

  25. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 145 Times in 70 Posts
    What multistream channels on 5 west does the VU zero 4k box open ?

    Is it all of them, including Canal + Sport France HD and the Sky Sport Italia HD channels ?

  26. #18
    Super Moderator saintomer1866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    3,860
    Thanked 6,867 Times in 2,133 Posts
    If you have the means of opening C+ France then I'm sure they would open, but I can only do the Italian channels (inc SSP Uno HD)

  27. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    268
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 145 Times in 70 Posts
    What are 'the means' ?

    Is it cs ?

    Thanks

  28. #20
    Super Moderator saintomer1866's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    3,279
    Thanks
    3,860
    Thanked 6,867 Times in 2,133 Posts
    If you can open C+ France by any means available to you
    C+ France and CS is a waste of time, occasionally it opens but not good enough to watch

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. New Receiver
    By Scream in forum HD Satellite Receivers Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 01:12 PM
  2. Want to buy Dad a HD sat receiver
    By keith lard in forum HD Satellite Receivers Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 08:50 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-05-2008, 12:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •