Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Itv hd

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Itv hd

    Set up Spiderbox 9000 in my new den for the world cup. Linked to an Freesat dish. BBC HD perfect but when I turn to ITVHD the picture constantly freezes. (11068v transponder). I have tried deleting and adding transponder but still freezes! Strength and quality are 89% and 98%. Standard ITV channels are fine. Any ideas?

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,325
    Thanks
    13,784
    Thanked 9,634 Times in 4,660 Posts
    try 11052 H 23000

    itv1 HD Granada

    working fine here

    ps:- I tested that transponder on my spiderbox 6000 and those 2 freesat ITV channels work fine , no freezing

    this suggests you have either an interference problem , or a spiderbox problem , or an lnb fault affecting some but not all transponders (or it may be that the dish & lnb isnt aligned correctly - although this is a doubtful possibility)

    testing with another box like a sly box or digital box would check if its the 9000 or not

    but as there are several transponders you can use for this, try the others like I did first

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    catseye (17-06-2018), pricey (17-06-2018)

  5. #3
    V.I.P catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,917
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,911 Times in 877 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pricey View Post
    Set up Spiderbox 9000 in my new den for the world cup. Linked to an Freesat dish. BBC HD perfect but when I turn to ITVHD the picture constantly freezes. (11068v transponder). I have tried deleting and adding transponder but still freezes! Strength and quality are 89% and 98%. Standard ITV channels are fine. Any ideas?
    Check your frequencies via KOS site
    https://en.*********.net/pos-28.2E.php

    You might want to try shutting down box & rebooting
    Checking there's no interference with cables etc -some cordless phones can affect signals etc
    Last edited by saintomer1866; 17-06-2018 at 10:31 PM.

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to catseye For This Useful Post:

    echelon (17-06-2018), pricey (17-06-2018)

  7. #4
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,472
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 1,168 Times in 633 Posts
    Today’s ITV picture was the worst I've ever seen on a world cup, soft pasty colour and low resolution, shockingly poor yet again with fluorescing bright contrast images.

    Downscaling UHD is piss poor, trying to make you pay more for what you had before for nothing.

    All the UK's broadcasters are under performing quality wise, even the europeans are guilty of the same lack of technical standards, I won't mention the poor quality of the football so far, spain portugal excepted !.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to TonyO For This Useful Post:

    catseye (18-06-2018)

  9. #5
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks
    285
    Thanked 646 Times in 401 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyO View Post
    Today’s ITV picture was the worst I've ever seen on a world cup, soft pasty colour and low resolution, shockingly poor yet again with fluorescing bright contrast images.

    Downscaling UHD is piss poor, trying to make you pay more for what you had before for nothing.

    All the UK's broadcasters are under performing quality wise, even the europeans are guilty of the same lack of technical standards, I won't mention the poor quality of the football so far, spain portugal excepted !.
    UHD downscaled to HD destroys native HD, ITV and BBC bitrates aint enough though to retain the detail, they can hold together the usual junk soap operas with low bitrates but sporting events, forget it.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to 3tv For This Useful Post:

    catseye (18-06-2018)

  11. #6
    V.I.P satpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    840
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 362 Times in 168 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pricey View Post
    Set up Spiderbox 9000 in my new den for the world cup. Linked to an Freesat dish. BBC HD perfect but when I turn to ITVHD the picture constantly freezes. (11068v transponder). I have tried deleting and adding transponder but still freezes! Strength and quality are 89% and 98%. Standard ITV channels are fine. Any ideas?
    Sounds like box is on the way out nothing to do with dish
    this is how it starts on HD channels

  12. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satpaul For This Useful Post:

    catseye (18-06-2018), echelon (18-06-2018)

  13. #7
    V.I.P catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,917
    Thanks
    2,776
    Thanked 4,911 Times in 877 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 3tv View Post
    UHD downscaled to HD destroys native HD, ITV and BBC bitrates aint enough though to retain the detail, they can hold together the usual junk soap operas with low bitrates but sporting events, forget it.
    You've only to look at the quality of BBC HD when it first launched compared to now
    In terms of technology we are years behind the rest of Europe

    CH4 HD was officially removed from the Freesat Platform a few months ago
    Following an argument with Freesat over EPG fees
    In 2018 its a disgrace -OFCOM officials should earn their fees

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to catseye For This Useful Post:

    echelon (18-06-2018)

  15. #8
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,115 Posts
    I'm watching the World Cup on the German, FTA, HD channels.
    The quality seems great, compared to what I remember, on British television, but as I haven't viewed British TV, for some time, I might be wrong.

  16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    catseye (18-06-2018), echelon (18-06-2018)

  17. #9
    V.I.P manic01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,259
    Thanks
    1,940
    Thanked 3,115 Times in 1,526 Posts
    Comparing ITV HD on my TM5402 to freeview HD, freeview is better, also ZDF HD is better than ITV hd 28e imo.
    ZDF 2 secs in front of 28e

  18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to manic01 For This Useful Post:

    echelon (19-06-2018), Mickha (19-06-2018)

  19. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Looks like its a Spiderbox issue. TM receiver works fine in its place. Strange how it is only ITV HD on different transponders that is affected!!

  20. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pricey For This Useful Post:

    catseye (19-06-2018), echelon (19-06-2018)

  21. #11
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,325
    Thanks
    13,784
    Thanked 9,634 Times in 4,660 Posts
    as satpaul says , given the age of the spiderbox 9000 its not surprising really, I am surorised it still works , but as there are at least 3 transponders with ITV HD on them and maybe 6 to 10 regional channels , maybe just one of them will work ?

    even an HD sly box will give you FTA channels including the HD channels, as well as the TM, so no biggie if all you want is FTA channels from any cheap box , and the HD sly boxes are dirt cheap if not free from ralatives, friends , gumtree , freecycle etc

    clearly my substitution idea worked in order to narrow down the fault , which is your old spiderbox

    as for being strange , NO , not really, as a satellite box has 4 methods of controlling an LNB, so maybe just one of them has a fault, these are

    HI - V
    LO - V
    HI - H
    LO - H

    so 22khz tones and 18v or 13v control the lnb itself , plus there may be dried out caps in the spiderbox giving strange issues

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    pricey (23-06-2018)

  23. #12
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,375
    Thanks
    285
    Thanked 646 Times in 401 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by manic01 View Post
    Comparing ITV HD on my TM5402 to freeview HD, freeview is better, also ZDF HD is better than ITV hd 28e imo.
    ZDF 2 secs in front of 28e
    ZDF is 1280x720p 50fps and a higher average bitrate. BBC and ITV's bitrate isn't high enough for a quality 1080i image, they should be embarrassed.

    Pricey should point his dish @ 19.2e instead

  24. The Following User Says Thank You to 3tv For This Useful Post:

    echelon (20-06-2018)

  25. #13
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,472
    Thanks
    70
    Thanked 1,168 Times in 633 Posts
    Digital Terrestrial HD on aerial in the UK is much higher quality than Sat dig HD on 28E, all on this sat is drab.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •