Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: New Motor Advice

  1. #1
    V.I.P chopper1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks
    609
    Thanked 97 Times in 66 Posts

    New Motor Advice

    I have had a drop in signal on most satellites sometimes drops from 70%-zero and intermittent, i had an engineer over thinking it was my quad lnb neeeding repaced or dish had moved with the strong winds, he checked all including the cable, the only thing could be causing the problem is the motor?
    I have a 1 metre motorised diseq system with quad lnb for 3 rooms, i can, not pick up 30 west and the dish used to go to *******,
    The only satellites i use now really are 28 east, 23.5 east, 13 east, sometimes 19 east and 1 west, maybe a cheaper alternative than the new motor is best?
    Anyway having a look what is the best motor for my 1 metre motorised system, looking on ******* Dragonsat DS3000, Superior Dark Motor All Metal, Technomate Diseqc H-H motor TM-2600 M3 are the ones im looking at, any advice appreciated, & i don't want to spend a fortune! thanks
    Receiver is a Spiderbox HD6000
    Last edited by chopper1; 07-02-2018 at 05:12 PM.

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,324
    Thanks
    13,782
    Thanked 9,634 Times in 4,660 Posts
    frankly, its easier to add a new motor if you want those sats , not easy to use a fixed dish and multiple lnb setup with a diseqc switch to access all of them from one single dish, and the costs probably outweigh the benefits

    I have an 80cm triax setup that gets me 28e + 19e + 13e with an extra feed from a separate zone 2 sly dish pointed at 30w , meaning 4 sats on a 4 way diseqc switch from 2 dishes, which is great when hopping about on those , but 23.5e would probably need another dish and possibly another for 1w , so several dishes and lnb racks etc too

    you should get a dark motor like umgum (see his thread) , mine is the superior I think, and I have to fit a supreme (the one with the lcd) at my lads when the weather improves , because he has similar requirements as you do

    so personally I would fit a dark motor and a dual or quad or octo lnb, as required

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (07-02-2018), Nikkas (07-02-2018)

  5. #3
    V.I.P digicon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    859
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 927 Times in 498 Posts
    An 80cm will easily get you 13,19,23 & 28 Easily a 1m will get you everything between 0.8 and 28.2, some cheap lnbs and a modified bracket will cost the same as a new motor

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to digicon For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (07-02-2018)

  7. #4
    V.I.P chopper1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks
    609
    Thanked 97 Times in 66 Posts
    thanks guys, apart from the dark superior motor, the Dragonsat DS-3000 seems to get good reviews?

  8. #5
    Cool Dude Nikkas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    476
    Thanks
    1,625
    Thanked 449 Times in 239 Posts
    I can vouch for Dark Motors. 8 years on same one and still going strong. AND yes I do use it.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Nikkas For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (07-02-2018), echelon (07-02-2018)

  10. #6
    V.I.P umgum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    669
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
    Mine is great Dark motor from goldwafers

  11. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to umgum For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (07-02-2018), echelon (07-02-2018), Nikkas (08-02-2018)

  12. #7
    V.I.P Aldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,302
    Thanks
    5,418
    Thanked 4,908 Times in 2,261 Posts
    I also have the: Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor with LED Display and Metal Gears DiSEqC 1.2 USALS Satellite Dish Motor, purchased from the forum sponsor.

  13. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Aldo For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (07-02-2018), echelon (07-02-2018), Nikkas (08-02-2018), umgum (07-02-2018)

  14. #8
    V.I.P umgum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    669
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    I also have the: Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor with LED Display and Metal Gears DiSEqC 1.2 USALS Satellite Dish Motor, purchased from the forum sponsor.
    Mine doesn`t have the LED display what difference does it make
    Is it easier to setup ?

  15. #9
    V.I.P chopper1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks
    609
    Thanked 97 Times in 66 Posts
    it seems the Supreme Intelligent Dark Motor is the one with LED display slightly more expensive than the Superior Dark Motor without LED

    before buying i would like to know what the advantages are of the supreme dark LED motor
    Last edited by chopper1; 08-02-2018 at 06:22 PM.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to chopper1 For This Useful Post:

    Nikkas (08-02-2018)

  17. #10
    V.I.P satpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    840
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 362 Times in 168 Posts
    The LED one is not as reliable as the non LED one

  18. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to satpaul For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (08-02-2018), echelon (28-05-2018), Nikkas (08-02-2018)

  19. #11
    V.I.P chopper1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks
    609
    Thanked 97 Times in 66 Posts
    hi guys,
    got the new motor, some satellites such as hispasat are much better some actually worse signal like 1 west
    The engineer has set up USALS with my longitude and latitude so i cannot fine tune on diseq as i could do before, Is it possible to change back to diseq on the spiderbox HD6000 to check if i can improve signal strength manually, and can i revert back to USALS if no better?

  20. #12
    Security Admin echelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    13,324
    Thanks
    13,782
    Thanked 9,634 Times in 4,660 Posts
    yes to both questions and karabanga has recently replied in another thread in the spider 6000 discussions forum here ,explaining all this to tombat

    also, you can leave it on usals and change the longitude by up to half a degree each way from your "ideal" longitude , so if you were on say 1.5w as ideal then you can alter and save it as anything between 1.0w and 2.0w , checking for signal and quality each time

  21. The Following User Says Thank You to echelon For This Useful Post:

    saintomer1866 (28-05-2018)

  22. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
    Is anyone using the Dark motor on 1.2 meter Channel master dish ?
    How does it perform ?
    I am still using a Vbox 2 and Jack arm which work very well but, is a real pain when I upload new channel lists as I have to reset each satellite each time.

  23. #14
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,115 Posts
    What reciever are you using?
    You should only have to re-enter your satellite positions after installing a new image, or full update, if using an Enigma 2 receiver.

  24. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    chopper1 (28-05-2018), echelon (28-05-2018)

  25. #15
    V.I.P satpaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    840
    Thanks
    151
    Thanked 362 Times in 168 Posts
    Dark Motor will not fit the channel master 1.2 polar mount only stab HH120 will with rings to make it 3 inch

  26. The Following User Says Thank You to satpaul For This Useful Post:

    echelon (28-05-2018)

  27. #16
    V.I.P chopper1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,199
    Thanks
    609
    Thanked 97 Times in 66 Posts
    spiserbox HD 6000 reciever

  28. #17
    V.I.P dog-man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,033
    Thanks
    406
    Thanked 614 Times in 424 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by satpaul View Post
    Dark Motor will not fit the channel master 1.2 polar mount only stab HH120 will with rings to make it 3 inch
    Can you buy the rings? If so, where?

    Or does it involve some ingenuity?

  29. #18
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,070
    Thanks
    346
    Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by chopper1 View Post
    spiserbox HD 6000 reciever
    Sorry, for the confusion, but It was bnc's receivers details, we need, as he was the one who posted, in your thread, regarding problems losing Diseqc 1.2 settings, when he uploads a new channel list, or is bnc using a Spiderbox 6000?

Similar Threads

  1. Advice on new motor
    By Grahamc in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-12-2016, 01:55 PM
  2. Advice Fibo dish motor
    By muscles in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 29-10-2011, 04:53 PM
  3. Motor with multi lnb holder. Advice please
    By veron57 in forum LNB Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-01-2010, 12:30 AM
  4. Moteck Motor Motor play and Motor noise
    By Totally plucked in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-04-2009, 08:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •