Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: how to install lolipop 5.1 on mygica 582

  1. #1
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    774
    Thanks
    449
    Thanked 898 Times in 308 Posts

    how to install lolipop 5.1 on mygica 582

    i did this last night
    on youtube i saw video of a guy instructing how to install lolipop 5.1 on mygica box.... youtube.com/watch?v=GstykYXm19w
    the file to use is firmware file atv1900ac
    putiing this on..Will erase everything..so just incase..i suggest you get the 582 firmware file from mygica
    i have 2 mygica 582 boxs...so decided to try it on one box
    great news...i am now using mygica 582 with lolipop 5.1 and krypton 17.1
    i went to mygica website...downloaded firmware atv1900ac
    put it on sdcard..in fat 32...and in applications...selected upgrade...it found my card and file auto
    i clicked upgrade file...and it installed fautlessly
    after install i saw lolipop logo...i set box up on welcome screen
    this upgrade puts kodi 16.1 on
    uninstall kodi 16.1
    then i installed kodi krypton 17.1
    i have the older remote...not the keyboard one...and only issue i am finding is back button
    so i used remote keyboard and mouse...working faultlessly
    anyone with the new slim remote should be ok
    little tip...when upgrading...just have power and hdmi lead in box...no ethernet cable connected...
    otherwise it will hang on install
    so seems there is a way to bring your mygica 582 to life again
    hope this helps other members...full credit goes to guy on youtube
    Last edited by EXTRAFACTO; 07-04-2017 at 02:45 PM.

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to EXTRAFACTO For This Useful Post:

    2colby (07-04-2017), hda5 (07-04-2017), seagate1 (31-05-2017)

  3.    Advert



  4. #2
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    363
    Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
    There is a Mygica Media Centre in beta at the moment, possibly released in a few weeks which I think is a fork of Kodi.

    More info in the mygica support forum, do not think links to other forums are allowed.

  5. #3
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    774
    Thanks
    449
    Thanked 898 Times in 308 Posts
    have been checking mygica support for well over a year...box started at 4.2...then update took it to 4.4 kitkat
    since then nothing...yet they have since then bought out new boxs..4 i think...android 6
    so seems they are leaving the 582 alone
    hence i went down the root of installing the firmware from the mygica 1900
    which like i stated puts lollipo 5.1 on box...hence allowing krypton 17.1 to be installed
    and for me its running perfectly
    as for the beta media centre you say about...its 17.0..and did you read the comments.of people installed it
    and has i stated in another post ..on tvaddons...they recommend 17.1 to be sure of slick speedy playback
    yes its a fork of kodi...and at moment a very poor one...i actually tried it...
    so in conclusion...its everyones personal choice..to install or not
    i chose to install..atv1900ac firmware.so glad i did
    Last edited by EXTRAFACTO; 07-04-2017 at 08:10 PM.

  6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to EXTRAFACTO For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (07-04-2017), seagate1 (31-05-2017), whompus (08-04-2017)

  7. #4
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    363
    Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
    Like you I like to play around with different apps and firmware and the comment about the beta media centre was just for info, however after completely bricking a T8 box I am a little more apprehensive about modifying my 582 at this moment in time although I am tempted to go down the same route as you.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to whompus For This Useful Post:

    EXTRAFACTO (08-04-2017)

  9. #5
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    774
    Thanks
    449
    Thanked 898 Times in 308 Posts
    i totally understand anyones concern about using firmware from other boxs etc
    after reading plus seeing the youtube video...that made my mind up
    as stated i have 2 mygica 582 boxs...one i try out stuff on before using on main box
    had seen that the 1900 uses same chip...so decided go for it
    its running perfectly
    i am that confident about it...i have 5 boxs here now from friends..waiting for me put the lollipop upgrade on
    i honestly can not see mygica doing a android upgrade firmware for the 582
    lots on mygica are asking that question...and getting very negative answers
    so by me installing atv1900ac firmware...i have bought my 582 to life
    am now getting lots 1080 scources...lots hd scources
    so for me its a win win situation

  10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to EXTRAFACTO For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (08-04-2017), seagate1 (31-05-2017), sparky_dog (12-04-2017)

  11. #6
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    363
    Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
    I gave this a go and I am having similar problems as you with the back button on standard remote but everything went pretty smoothly. Currently do not like Kodi 17 but no doubt I will get used to it eventually.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to whompus For This Useful Post:

    seagate1 (31-05-2017)

  13. #7
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    774
    Thanks
    449
    Thanked 898 Times in 308 Posts
    yes i agree about krypton 17.1 layout
    but easy fix...on main page after launching kodi..at top click settings
    now click interface settings...now click skin estuary..now on right you should see get more..click that
    from list select confluence..install that...now it will look like traditiol kodi
    under video ..you will see addons...click that and all your addons will be there..launch from there
    i find mouse and keyboard work fine
    and have you noticed the big rise in 1080 scources and hd...compaired to kodi 16.1
    Last edited by EXTRAFACTO; 08-04-2017 at 05:50 PM.

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to EXTRAFACTO For This Useful Post:

    seagate1 (31-05-2017)

  15. #8
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    174
    Thanks
    363
    Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
    I use Pulse which now has a version for krypton so things are back to normal on that front.
    With regards to the back button on the standard remote you can reconfigure by going to System Settings - Input - Configure attached controllers
    Not had any time to check any 1080 sources properly.

  16. The Following User Says Thank You to whompus For This Useful Post:

    EXTRAFACTO (13-04-2017)

  17. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Unfortunately there's no sign of Minix releasing a firmware upgrade for their earlier models, I've not had mine too long and was at risk of becoming obsolete. Not had it long either, now using FTMC, which has saved my box/bacon.

  18. #10
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    39
    Thanked 113 Times in 81 Posts
    can i install from usb memory stick rather than sd card
    Quote Originally Posted by EXTRAFACTO View Post
    i did this last night
    on youtube i saw video of a guy instructing how to install lolipop 5.1 on mygica box.... youtube.com/watch?v=GstykYXm19w
    the file to use is firmware file atv1900ac
    putiing this on..Will erase everything..so just incase..i suggest you get the 582 firmware file from mygica
    i have 2 mygica 582 boxs...so decided to try it on one box
    great news...i am now using mygica 582 with lolipop 5.1 and krypton 17.1
    i went to mygica website...downloaded firmware atv1900ac
    put it on sdcard..in fat 32...and in applications...selected upgrade...it found my card and file auto
    i clicked upgrade file...and it installed fautlessly
    after install i saw lolipop logo...i set box up on welcome screen
    this upgrade puts kodi 16.1 on
    uninstall kodi 16.1
    then i installed kodi krypton 17.1
    i have the older remote...not the keyboard one...and only issue i am finding is back button
    so i used remote keyboard and mouse...working faultlessly
    anyone with the new slim remote should be ok
    little tip...when upgrading...just have power and hdmi lead in box...no ethernet cable connected...
    otherwise it will hang on install
    so seems there is a way to bring your mygica 582 to life again
    hope this helps other members...full credit goes to guy on youtube

  19. #11
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    774
    Thanks
    449
    Thanked 898 Times in 308 Posts
    i did try install from usb stick...but it would not see it..
    so like the guy in video sugests sdcard...worked faultlessly
    i used the one out of my tablet..left all my stuff on it...because the box only sees the upgrade file anyway
    i am now using krypton 17.3 on my mygica 582 and its running great
    Last edited by EXTRAFACTO; 30-05-2017 at 11:19 PM.

  20. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to EXTRAFACTO For This Useful Post:

    2colby (31-05-2017), seagate1 (31-05-2017), welshpaddy (31-05-2017)

Similar Threads

  1. mygica
    By richardjj in forum Kodi Discussion Section
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25-03-2017, 05:48 PM
  2. New Mygica Update.
    By jamsb in forum Kodi Discussion Section
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 19-09-2016, 06:19 PM
  3. subtitles on mygica?
    By grin2 in forum Kodi Discussion Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-03-2016, 07:31 PM
  4. mygica usa
    By grin2 in forum Kodi Discussion Section
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20-11-2015, 11:08 PM
  5. KODI 15.1 on mygica 582 box
    By EXTRAFACTO in forum Kodi Discussion Section
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-10-2015, 11:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •