Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Oyster Vison auto search for Intelsat 907 - Help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

    Oyster Vison auto search for Intelsat 907 - Help

    Hi Guys,

    I'm looking for some support towards how I set my Oyster Vision up to auto find Intelsat 907.

    My understanding (very basic) gained from Oyster on how to update the settings for Astra 2 when Sky changed the frequencies. I have obtained the following information about Intelsat 907 -


    Frequency - 11495
    Pol - V
    Symbol - 44100
    FEC - 9/10

    When I look at how you update the auto search features on the Oyster there are 4 sets of co-ordinates to be entered. The first would be the ones above. The following 3 which are used for Astra 2 are just other frequencies on Astra 2 but for different channels. There lies my problem, the frequency is the same for all the Freesat channels with no other frequencies, except for the data channels which are also broadcast from this satellite. Would it be okay to add those as the other 3 or do I just add the details above in all 4 co-ordinates.

    Any help would be very much appreciated and if above is completely wrong please tell me as I have based on deduction and comparison of information with regard to reprogramming for Astra 2 so may be completely off the mark.

    thank you

    Stewart

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    30
    Thanked 38 Times in 23 Posts
    Hi Stewart. It's a long time since I set one of these up,but I think there is a way that when you are on any satellite, you can move round by xx degrees to find the one you want. (eg Astra 2 = 28E, 907 = 27W, so rotate clockwise by 55) and then fine tune to get the transponder
    Hopefully someone else will have a manual for this. Good luck
    Last edited by DJSat79; 25-02-2017 at 04:39 PM. Reason: typo

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to DJSat79 For This Useful Post:

    stewartwebr (26-02-2017)

  5. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thanks to DJSat79

    In the event someone some day wants to find out about how you do what I was asking I thought I would update on the response I got from speaking to the guys at Oyster in Germany. The Oyster Vision has 4 pre-set satellites within the controller. These can be changed to any satellite you choose. They did not go into detail on how this is done to select Intelsat 907 but I have instructions on how this is done when the frequencies had to be changed for Astra 2 a few years ago. So it is nothing more than following those instructions but inputting the frequency 11495 for Intelsat 907 instead of Astra 2 frequency. The only issue they clarified was around each pre-programmed satellite has 4 sets of transponder inputs to the Oyster controller. This is to prevent issues if one of the transponder frequencies were to be removed or changed, the system on failing to find the first frequency then moves onto the next and so forth. However, in the case of Intelsat 907 Freeview is all broadcast on the same transponder frequency 11495. the other transponder frequencies from 907 are all for data. I did think I should input those but Oyster tell me not too. Not sure why but they are the experts. So only enter 11495 in the first transponder.

    here is the procedure for changing the Frequency in an Oyster Vision 2 this specifically relates to changing Astra 2 frequencies but if you are assigning frequencies for Intelsat 907 I would suggest you use on of the 4 pre-sets you don't use and reassign that. In my case I don't use Hotbird so re-assigned that to 907.



    ACTION

    RESULT



    Press Dish to raise up -

    PRESS TICK BUTTON

    DISH STOPS DEAD

    Display reads

    MAIN MENU

    If not then you have older software and it will need a computer update and you cannot continue


    PRESS LEFT OR RIGHT ARROWS AND TOGGLE THROUGH TO MAIN MENU ( if not displayed )

    Display reads

    MAIN MENU

    If just “menu” or “settings” appear at this stage you have older software and it will need a computer update and you cannot continue


    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    SETTINGS




    PRESS AND RELEASE THE TICK AND LEFT ARROW TOGETHER

    DISPLAY READS

    “SERVICE MENU”

    THEN “RETURN” OR “BACK”

    IF LANGUAGE APPEARS PRESS START BUTTON ONCE AND GO BACK A STEP


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW



    MODEL SELECTION

    Do not change


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW

    TEST MECH LIMITS

    Do not change


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW

    ADJ SHUT FORCE

    Do not change


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW

    MAX ELEVATION

    Do not change


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW

    LNB OFFSET LOW

    Do not change


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW

    LNB OFFSET HIGH

    Do not change


    PRESS RIGHT ARROW

    TRANSPONDER EDIT

    Select this option with tick button


    STEP 1

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    ASTRA 2

    If astra 1 shows change to astra 2 with right arrow button


    STEP 2

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    TRANSPONDER 0

    Do not change


    STEP 3

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    FREQ. 11681MHz

    May be a different frequency

    CHANGE TO FREQ 11265 USING ARROW BUTTONS


    STEP 4

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    POLARISATION shows 0H OR 1V

    Set to 1V with right arrow button


    STEP 5

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    SYMBOL 27500

    Do not change


    STEP 6

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    FEC 2

    Do not change


    STEP7

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    IQ 1

    Do not change


    STEP 8

    PRESS THE TICK BUTTON

    STORING



    NOW DO THE SAME AGAIN WITH THE FOLLOWING VALUES TO SET TRANSPONDERS 1,2,3

    ALWAYS ON ASTRA 2


    REPEAT STEPS 1 TO 8

    SELECTING TRANSPONDER 1 THEN 2 THEN 3 AND CHANGE THE FREQUENCIES AND POLARISATION TO THE FOLLOWING VALUES


    AND THE IQ1 IS ALWAYS IQ1 PRESS THE TICK TO STORE THE VALUES AND THE LEFT/RIGHT ARROWS TO CHANGE THE VALUES.

    TRANSPONDER 0

    11265 1V (YOU HAVE JUST DONE ) NOW REPEAT WITH

    TRANSPONDER 1

    11307 0H

    symbol 27500 fec 5


    TRANSPONDER 2

    12207 1V

    symbol 27500 fec 5

    TRANSPONDER 3

    11553 0H

    symbol 22000 FEC 5

    THAT COMPLETES THE CHANGES











    PRESS ON/OFF BUTTON, MAIN MENU WILL APPEAR

    SELECT “AUTOMATIC SEARCH” WITH ARROW BUTTONS and press tick

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stewartwebr For This Useful Post:

    andy gg (08-03-2017), DJSat79 (26-02-2017)

  7. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    very good description stew ,also remember to only add sd frequency for search transponder,
    hd ones wont get a lock

Similar Threads

  1. Icecrypt S1600 driving Oyster Vision III via DiSeqC
    By Oldfozzie in forum Dish Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-09-2015, 12:58 PM
  2. m vison
    By mrspot in forum HD Satellite Receivers Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29-10-2012, 12:22 PM
  3. sat search.
    By chippy in forum Octagon
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-02-2009, 10:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •