Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: BBC Earth and BBC Brit

  1. #1
    V.I.P Roadrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    1,970
    Thanked 2,356 Times in 708 Posts

    BBC Earth and BBC Brit

    BBC Knowledge SD and BBC Knowledge HD changed their names to BBC Earth SD and HD on Hotbird ( SD: 11.117 V 27500 and HD: 10.834 V 27500) Also BBC Entartainment on 11.117 V 27500 was changed to BBC BRIT. The HD version of the BBC BRIT channel also started broadcasting this morning on 12.476 H 29900) All the channels have english audio.
    I am having problems viewing the BBC BRIT HD though. It worked a treat since 6am when it officially started broadcasting until about 9AM and now its all garbled up (as if the signal wasn't strong enough despite it being quite strong with S:90% and Q:78).Can somebody check the channel please and report back if it works for them? I dont know if its teething problems on their end or the fault lies my end?

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Roadrunner For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015), Barney (02-02-2015), manic01 (02-02-2015)

  3.    Advert



  4. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    70
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 20 Times in 15 Posts
    BBC Brit HD is fine for me mate in S Wales 100cm dish coming in at 93%

  5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to SteveR For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015), Barney (02-02-2015), Roadrunner (02-02-2015)

  6. #3
    V.I.P Roadrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    1,970
    Thanked 2,356 Times in 708 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveR View Post
    BBC Brit HD is fine for me mate in S Wales 100cm dish coming in at 93%
    Thank you. Looks like I need to get up there and adjust my multifeed some more then ( The channel is still garbled up as I type this message.

  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Roadrunner For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015), Barney (02-02-2015)

  8. #4
    V.I.P Barney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,628
    Thanks
    3,565
    Thanked 3,251 Times in 1,624 Posts

    Icon3

    ......

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Barney For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015), manic01 (02-02-2015), Roadrunner (02-02-2015)

  10. #5
    V.I.P Roadrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    1,970
    Thanked 2,356 Times in 708 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Barney View Post
    ......
    Thank You Barney.
    I begin to wonder if its my box thats unable to handle this freq. Spent couple of hours trying to adjust the dish and multifeed and no luck, the figures for SIgnal& quality I posted above are the best I can get for this TP and the picture is still messed up. I will just have to be happy with what I have. Rest of the channels are working great so until they turn off the SD versions completely they will have to do for me. Too much work to start messing about with my setup (8lnbs over 3 dishes) Will get back to it when the weather improves, or fit the motor back on one of the dishes (I have one tm-2600 and one supreme dark gathering dust in the garage).
    Regards,
    RR
    Edit: Right after posting this message I tried to view the channel again and it WORKS ???
    Signal dropped to 79/64 and it's working ok? I give up
    Last edited by Roadrunner; 02-02-2015 at 02:32 PM.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Roadrunner For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015)

  12. #6
    V.I.P Barney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,628
    Thanks
    3,565
    Thanked 3,251 Times in 1,624 Posts
    i would say when weather improves bang on your TM-2600 Disecq motor
    at least with that you can fine move untill you have perfect signals ..above screenshots taken from my TBS USB 5980 Qbox and ProgDVB with 78cm Triax dish and TM-2600 Disecq motor
    with inverto black ultra LNB .
    good luck : )

    --
    Barney

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Barney For This Useful Post:

    Roadrunner (02-02-2015)

  14. #7
    V.I.P Roadrunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    1,970
    Thanked 2,356 Times in 708 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Barney View Post
    i would say when weather improves bang on your TM-2600 Disecq motor
    at least with that you can fine move untill you have perfect signals ..above screenshots taken from my TBS USB 5980 Qbox and ProgDVB with 78cm Triax dish and TM-2600 Disecq motor
    with inverto black ultra LNB .
    good luck : )

    --
    Barney
    Nice screenshots
    I have to rely on my photo camera here

    The channel is still working ok despite the drop in signal strenght. As long as it works I am happy with it

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Roadrunner For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015)

  16. #8
    V.I.P manic01's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3,054
    Thanks
    1,822
    Thanked 2,831 Times in 1,392 Posts
    Fault free for me.

  17. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to manic01 For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (02-02-2015), Barney (02-02-2015), Roadrunner (02-02-2015)

  18. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
    Hi All

    Just wondering if anyone has had this same problem ? I have had all the BBC polsat channels working within the last few days but now BBC Brit and BBC lifestyle now don't work however BBC HD BBC EARTH work fine . The box tries to decode BBC brit and opens enough to show the logo but rest of the picture is pixilated tried tewaking the dish but signal is in excess of 80%. Tried 2 boxes TM5402 and Zgemma H2S both boxes show the same problem any ideas appreciated !

  19. #10
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,838
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 1,614 Times in 965 Posts
    Just checked 12476 H 29900 DVB-S2 8PSK 3/4, on 13E, and there isn't a problem, with the channels on that frequency.
    The problems, you've described, sound like interference, which can be caused by DECT telephones, have you recently installed one, or has your neighbour?
    It can also be caused by a failing LNB, or faulty, damaged, cables/connections, especially water ingress.

  20. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    dave1234 (08-11-2017), holmroad (08-11-2017)

  21. #11
    Cool Dude holmroad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,606
    Thanks
    3,177
    Thanked 1,510 Times in 1,045 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mickha View Post
    Just checked 12476 H 29900 DVB-S2 8PSK 3/4, on 13E, and there isn't a problem, with the channels on that frequency.
    The problems, you've described, sound like interference, which can be caused by DECT telephones, have you recently installed one, or has your neighbour?
    It can also be caused by a failing LNB, or faulty, damaged, cables/connections, especially water ingress.
    All working fine here too!

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to holmroad For This Useful Post:

    dave1234 (08-11-2017)

  23. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
    Thanks for that. I put on a new tm LNB a few days ago . but possibly could be the cabling as there was heavy rain here at the time the signal dissapeared. So yes thanks again as I now know that it should work !! thanks again

  24. #13
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,102
    Thanks
    2,321
    Thanked 5,558 Times in 2,372 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roadrunner View Post
    Edit: Right after posting this message I tried to view the channel again and it WORKS ???
    Signal dropped to 79/64 and it's working ok? I give up
    Wireless Phone nearby ?

    VBox ? (some VBoxes mine included have trouble with this frequency in both the high and low bands )

    Ian.

  25. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
    OK thanks to all again lots of fiddling with cables did it !

  26. The Following User Says Thank You to dave1234 For This Useful Post:

    holmroad (09-11-2017)

  27. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
    I noticed a few days ago that the sound on bbc earth has gone a bit dalek like the picture is fine and you can understand the sound track but its annoying. The sound is ok if you change to the polish audio track and the English sound is ok on bbc HD

    I have retuned the receiver the signal strength is fine and I have compared the sound settings on bbc earth to bbc HD and they are identical.

    Any ideas gratefully received

  28. #16
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,838
    Thanks
    301
    Thanked 1,614 Times in 965 Posts
    You'll have to wait for the provider to solve the problem, as it's not down to your setup.
    You could try BBC Earth HD on 0.8W, that audio is working fine.

  29. The Following User Says Thank You to Mickha For This Useful Post:

    dave1234 (15-11-2017)

  30. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
    Thanks for that will look into .8w

  31. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    94
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked 27 Times in 19 Posts
    Problem seems fixed now !

  32. The Following User Says Thank You to dave1234 For This Useful Post:

    saintomer1866 (15-11-2017)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •