Thread: Spiderbox 6000HD

Thanks

Spiderbox 6000HD

Hi
    I am completely new to the spider-box 6000hd and as my 24 yr old sky box in my caravan is commng to the end of its life i bought the sb6000 to replace it
    Been messing and get hundreds of channels but not many of what i want.
    I was using freesat from sky so is there an easy way to get most or more of these channels on the spiderbox
    I have seen posts but not sure yet as what to do
    Thanks to anyone who can help
    Tony

Thanks
    Thanked 9,112 Times in 4,411 Posts
    if you have used a pre-made channel list (or scanned 28.2e) then you will get the channels that emanate from 28.2e and 28.4e on your box

this means you should RECEIVE all the channels from that sat position

BUT you will not DECODE the scrambled channels (the ones with dollar signs)

so you will get good signal and quality on the channels but you will only be able to view and hear the free to air (FTA) channels, the same as on your very old sky box (with no card in it)

the cccam or newcamd options in the network menu can allow decoding of some or most (but not all) of the scrambled channels but this requires access to the internet from the box and also requires you to obtain a "gift" (which isnt a gift) to do so. (the phonetic internet slang for this is "sea lion")

the "gift" that comes from patching the spiderbox is for some other channels on different satellites, not from 28e so is of no use to you if you only use 28e

so when you buy a spiderbox its an fta box, needs patching and internet access for it to do what is talked about on these forums and needs a sea lion in order to view come of the scrambled channels at 28e or elsewhere

that is the "score" in very basic terms and applies to all 3rd party boxes as far as sea lions are concerned, not just this box

I have concentrated my answer on 28e because I believe your question is more about watching sly channels (and/or BT SPORT channels) from 28e