Thread: Tablet recommendations

Thanks

Tablet recommendations

I read that tablet sales may soon overtake PC's and today Tesco have announced a tablet for £119, so I wondered what everyone thinks is now the one to have.

I am used to a Samsung S3 and have no knowledge of i anything so would be tempted towards something running android. I don't want to start a slanging match between fans of either system but would I be right in thinking there may be more "free" stuff available for android? I use vu+ player, tomtom and navionics for nautical charts, all easily available for the phone so guess the same for a tablet.

What do you guys think? an included GPS is very important for me but not necessarily 3G as coverage where I spend most of my time is crap.
    What do you think is best value, and what do you think is the very best tablet regardless of cost?

Thanks
    I am no expert but thought an S3 was a phone, not a tablet so hope you are only using it for a comparison

the tab 2 7 inch or 10 inch would be a good choice, although I prefer the google nexus 7 by asus

I also think you get what you pay for so wouldnt necessarily go for a no-name tablet, nor do I think its worth buying an expensive one either

in my case I bought second hand ones for no more that £100, so have a 7 inch google nexus 7 32gig and also a Nook HD+ 10 inch tablet too , but did use the galaxy tab 2 for a while and found it to be an excellent tablet too

might be worth reading through our android forum as well for any other info or choices

on a personal note, I have never fallen for the apple hyped up products so cannot comment on those overpriced items, and the sony tablets are too dear IMHO too

so my shortlist would include the asus (google) nexus , samsung tab , nook HD and acer iconia ones, instead of the cheaper end ones and especially not the PRC clones like the allwinner etc

some info on the tesco HUDL one here http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-24203271

Thanks