Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: SpiderBox & Wifi Bridge (Vonets?)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    SpiderBox & Wifi Bridge (Vonets?)

    Hi,

    Been looking at getting a spiderbox 7000HD setup for a good few months now, seems to be taking ages to save up the cash for a decent dish & the installation... anyway.. looking at ways of connecting it to my home network and stumbled upon a link to Vonets Wifi bridge.

    Has anyone had any experience using this before and what are your thoughts?

    From what I can gather it's a case of configuring it on your PC, 'training it' to use your wifi network, then just unplug it and whack it in your spiderbox?

    Are there any recommended alternatives to this product?

    Thanks

    e: noticed that it's either USB or DC2.0v powered, does it run off the spiderbox power OK?

    Ta
    Last edited by jonmknight; 25-04-2012 at 04:35 PM.

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    670
    Thanks
    450
    Thanked 299 Times in 151 Posts
    i use the vonets wifi bridge, without any complications. it comes with its own install disc and you just follow the instructions. powered by a usb connector. i would go with the vonets. just my opinion.

  4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chippy For This Useful Post:

    echelon (25-04-2012), jonmknight (25-04-2012)

  5. #3
    V.I.P captainglassback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,017
    Thanks
    552
    Thanked 219 Times in 143 Posts
    Vonets working perfectly with my Spider 9000HD. In fact it seems more stable than when used Spiderplugs. (Probably coincidence. No logic there!). Incredibly easy to setup (Win7 64bit). The Spider with Vonets is around 18 feet from router. I did try the Vonets in a Humax Foxsat at the other end of the house and it didn't want to know.....that will either be the awkward Foxsat or maybe the distance.
    Last edited by captainglassback; 25-04-2012 at 07:04 PM.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to captainglassback For This Useful Post:

    echelon (25-04-2012)

  7. #4
    V.I.P voyager1972's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    656
    Thanks
    367
    Thanked 480 Times in 256 Posts

    vonets wifi

    i use the vonets wifi bridge for my 2 dm 500 & dm 800 ,,,,great peice of kit...only problems i had was setting up the 128 bit encryption,,,,had to settle for 64 bit,,,,,,,apart from that there great for networking you receivers

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to voyager1972 For This Useful Post:

    echelon (25-04-2012)

  9. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    I use one on a 9000HD but it wouldn't connect if it was too far from router also I couldn't get it to connect to a 5000SD

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to itfc78 For This Useful Post:

    echelon (25-04-2012)

  11. #6
    Senior Member Dr. House's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    254
    Thanked 26 Times in 14 Posts
    Yeah, Vonets was a great solution for my house without internet connection cables. The only problem is the distance between Vonets and my Spider 9000, short distance otherwise no connection. :(

  12. #7
    Member shhtvison's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
    Does anyone know of software which will work for vonets on windows 10? trying to connect spiderbox to internet but not working, sorry for jumping in thread but seemed no point making new one.
    Last edited by shhtvison; 09-01-2016 at 11:22 AM.

  13. #8
    V.I.P Detlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,020
    Thanks
    549
    Thanked 1,559 Times in 932 Posts
    I've only found one bit of s/w that doesn't work with W10.

    Have you tried the W10 compatibility and/or 'run as administrator' modes ?

Similar Threads

  1. Diablo Wifi to spiderbox
    By gadstamut in forum Diablo
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-12-2011, 12:17 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 11:26 AM
  3. wifi bridge not working correctly??
    By cutain in forum SpiderBox 9000 HD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-01-2011, 10:06 PM
  4. Vonets USB WiFi Bridge in stock
    By LeeGW in forum Goldwafers.com
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-12-2010, 09:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •