Thread: VU+ Ultimo or Xtrend ET9500?

Thanks

VU+ Ultimo or Xtrend ET9500?

Hi Folks,

I was wandering if I could get an advice on choosing a receiver.
    I'm a complete newbie - it would be my very first one ever and so will my sat system. I'm looking for a twin tuner (at least) with blind search (slightly optional). I was browsing web for a while and got down to two: ultimo and et9500 (dreambox's too pricey). They seem to be very similar, at least to a newbie, so I thought I'll ask someone with way more knowledge and experience than me.
    Both of them run E2, use the same processor, have the same amount of memory and have plug and play tuners. Vu offers slot for a third tuner and ET have a blind scan (yep, I know it's still need to get better E2 firmware for it, but hardware is there) and is around £100 cheaper.
    Other side of the story is a third party support for them. It seems to me that VU's much bigger, but I've seen xtrend's preview on vu's official (i think) support site, so maybe it means that I could use their plugins as well (like blackhole - I think it would allow me to use other receiver to watch tv from my main one, as long as they're connected to each other and main one would be in a standby mode).
    There's a lot to think of and I would appreciate any help and advice to make a right choice.

Thanks a lot in advance for any replies.
    Czarny.

Thanks
    They are Nigh on identical they both have 512mb ram both have 1gb Nandflash and both use the Broadcom 7413 chipset, The only difference is the Ultimo has space for a 3rd tuner internally and has a bigger VFD display.

You could of course use a separate USB tuner in both for either DVB-S2 or DVB-T/C which would make the Xtrend 3 tuner compatible and the Ultimo 4 tuner compatible, The Ultimo does have the advantage of having slightly more support as in the Blackhole image.

Apart from those i have highlighted there is not much in it really