Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: protek 9760

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Icon7 protek 9760

    anyone got any info on how good/bad it is?
    been recomended for easy option with auto update but dont know much else about it.
    advice would b appreciated

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    732
    Thanked 25 Times in 13 Posts
    Lee,you need to scroll down to digital receiver discussions and right at the very bottom you come to other receivers,the first post you see is Protek patching,there is some good advice from xanadu and aldo.
    Regards, 2colby.

  4. #3
    V.I.P Aldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,911
    Thanks
    2,902
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,419 Posts
    Please read the info in this thread, ref your receiver:

    http://www.satpimps.co.uk/showthread...rotek-patching

  5. #4
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    481
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 68 Times in 48 Posts
    Hi Lee,

    The Protek 9760ip HD does it All.
    It connects to server when you switch it On.
    It Updates Boquets for you (This week it
    Added S@Y Italy) Not All channels, It
    Uploaded around 40 channels HD 3D, and
    All sports channels.
    In All it opens Providers on Sats from
    19e (Not 28e) to 30w Hispasat.

    It also Updates Firm and software through
    the ethernet connection.
    The gift lasts arround 2 years or so then you
    have to buy more time.
    I have one, and the thing is I became bored with
    the Protek doing everything, so I bought
    a VU+ Uno to play with, set that up with
    a C-Line for 28e (100% solid as a rock) sitting
    at PC viewing Game with the help of the Uno
    Saver tuner sending Tv signal to PC, and
    using VLC Media player to view.

    BF.

  6. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bbigfoot For This Useful Post:

    halfax (14-03-2012), maurice (14-03-2012), tigertimtim (12-03-2012)

  7. #5
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    201
    Thanked 65 Times in 44 Posts
    nice that this box as the option to buy more gift time, what sort of price do they charge for this btw?
    much glitching on the boxes as looking to buy protek when my spiderbox runs out plus spider is a bit short of quality (newish) film channels imho where as Protek seems to have a much better selection with german n now italy channals open;]

  8. #6
    V.I.P Aldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,911
    Thanks
    2,902
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,419 Posts
    The Protek receivers do not have gift channels, they have bouquets, which are the encrypted channel that they clear, and it is the 9600 receivers that are able to extend their connection to the server by purchasing an ID, which I assume is something akin to a Mac address, as the 9600 can no longer connect to the server, very much like some of the the spiderboxes, how long the Sly Italia channels remain clear is anyones guess, and furthermore the receivers do not clear (All Sly Italia Sports Channels) they are clearing some.

  9. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 17 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bbigfoot View Post
    Hi Lee,

    The Protek 9760ip HD does it All.
    It connects to server when you switch it On.
    It Updates Boquets for you (This week it
    Added S@Y Italy) Not All channels, It
    Uploaded around 40 channels HD 3D, and
    All sports channels.
    In All it opens Providers on Sats from
    19e (Not 28e) to 30w Hispasat.

    It also Updates Firm and software through
    the ethernet connection.
    The gift lasts arround 2 years or so then you
    have to buy more time.
    I have one, and the thing is I became bored with
    the Protek doing everything, so I bought
    a VU+ Uno to play with, set that up with
    a C-Line for 28e (100% solid as a rock) sitting
    at PC viewing Game with the help of the Uno
    Saver tuner sending Tv signal to PC, and
    using VLC Media player to view.

    BF.
    would it possible to view on laptop while i am out at work?

  10. #8
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    444
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 172 Times in 88 Posts
    Though at present don't use Sat much, have had the previous
    probably 9600 & now the Protek 9750HD IP. Good quality picture
    & easy to use, downside is how long you get updates. Had I have
    made more use of it would have been a good purchase. Although
    used as a 2nd STB info on setup without a dish is sparse.

    The new linux one may be a good bet but also have to find out
    more about it & told not easy to get at present.



    Regards catoro.

  11. #9
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    481
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 68 Times in 48 Posts
    Hi halfax,

    The Protek is a closed box (when
    its in standby it disconnect its
    ethrenet connection).
    You need a box that that stays
    connected when its in
    Standby an (Open Box) not just the
    STB called by that name.
    Then you will be able to view your box
    in Tim Buck Too.
    BF.
    BF.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to Bbigfoot For This Useful Post:

    halfax (13-03-2012)

  13. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks for replies just took the plunge and ordered one

  14. #11
    V.I.P Aldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,911
    Thanks
    2,902
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,419 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lee View Post
    thanks for replies just took the plunge and ordered one
    Just to inform you that the forum that supported those receivers in Now Closed.

  15. #12
    V.I.P xanadu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,998
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 156 Times in 101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldo View Post
    Just to inform you that the forum that supported those receivers in Now Closed.
    Aldo, the main forum that I know is not closed, so plenty of support available.

  16. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xanadu For This Useful Post:

    Aldo (13-03-2012), TJ1 (14-03-2012)

  17. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    155
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 17 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bbigfoot View Post
    Hi halfax,

    The Protek is a closed box (when
    its in standby it disconnect its
    ethrenet connection).
    You need a box that that stays
    connected when its in
    Standby an (Open Box) not just the
    STB called by that name.
    Then you will be able to view your box
    in Tim Buck Too.
    BF.
    BF.
    first thanks for advice , so a vu+duo would be ok?

  18. #14
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    444
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 172 Times in 88 Posts
    Have been trying to get some info on the Protek MK-1
    Linux box. The Forum I used is closed or at least down
    at present & suppliers have changed name, though
    found a better price.

    Appears the MK1 doesn't have a scart. Has anyone used
    an addon USB /PVR drive for recording. Need to find out
    if video can be put to DVD or a USB DVD used. Would
    normally have connected to a PVR/DVD combo. Don't
    know the difference between 9750 & 9760 at present
    & thought until I checked it was the Linux version.

    Also trying to find out how to buy more time on older
    9600 for a friend. It was on closed site.

    Any advice appreciated.


    Regards catoro.

  19. #15
    V.I.P Aldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,911
    Thanks
    2,902
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,419 Posts
    Also trying to find out how to buy more time on older
    9600 for a friend. It was on closed site.

    Hi M8

    I think that option is available from some of the dealers that sell/sold those receivers.

  20. #16
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    444
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 172 Times in 88 Posts
    Thanks for the reply Aldo. Have found the new phone number
    of Forum that is down but they were very cagey on giving
    out info last time I spoke to them on another subject.

    Typical, had two of 9600 & gave to a friend to move on
    few days later they became semi obsolete !!

    Now have to do more research on Protek MK 1 to get answers
    from above questions to see if box is worth getting.

    (Update: the unamed Forum is now closed, no info
    for 9600 code. Now
    find 9760 is faster box than 9750)



    Regards catoro.
    Last edited by catoro; 14-03-2012 at 07:09 PM. Reason: addition.

  21. #17
    V.I.P xanadu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,998
    Thanks
    95
    Thanked 156 Times in 101 Posts
    My MK-1 has a USB HDD attached for recording but due to freezes on the network recording is unreliable.
    I never knew there isn't a SCART, but that's because I don't use SCART so never noticed before.
    It has component video sockets which should connect to a normal SCART with right connector?

    The 9760 gets the audio on 30W Meo channels, but the 9750 does not and neither does MK-1 currently.


    Quote Originally Posted by catoro View Post
    Have been trying to get some info on the Protek MK-1
    Linux box. The Forum I used is closed or at least down
    at present & suppliers have changed name, though
    found a better price.

    Appears the MK1 doesn't have a scart. Has anyone used
    an addon USB /PVR drive for recording. Need to find out
    if video can be put to DVD or a USB DVD used. Would
    normally have connected to a PVR/DVD combo. Don't
    know the difference between 9750 & 9760 at present
    & thought until I checked it was the Linux version.

    Also trying to find out how to buy more time on older
    9600 for a friend. It was on closed site.

    Any advice appreciated.


    Regards catoro.

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to xanadu For This Useful Post:

    maurice (14-03-2012)

  23. #18
    Cool Dude
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    444
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 172 Times in 88 Posts
    Many thanks for your help xanadu. An addition to earlier post
    crossed with with yours.

    Have just been lied to, was told that the 9750 name was changed
    to 9760 due to clashing with another model. Unless the salesperson
    was unaware of audio problem !?! I will check on 30W but only just
    getting back to Sat, two STBs are about a year old & virtually unused.
    When searching net see the STB as 9750/9760 most of the time.

    The general idea with the MK-1 is it's an ideal box if like the
    9750 but...if "free gift" stops may be able to use in Linux form.
    If correct, read a different image could be installed as may be
    based on non legit DB ?

    Thanks for information about video output, have been trying to
    find picture of MK-1 rear view. Am running 9750 via phono plugs
    as TV has 4 AV buttons. The DB 8k is connected via DVI-D & also
    use scart, have 6 remotes !! The MK-1 doesn't list scart in spec,
    more outputs on 9750.

    The MK-1 would be for upstairs use. Can't say I've noticed any break
    up though only watched almost a full film on 9750 but no break ups
    on testing channels. Have had a Cat5e cable installed to phone
    socket & run a Cat6 x1000 network. Dl at around 2mb/s approx 20mb
    line, no cable here.

    So a lot to research as no ideal all round solution to get films at a sensible price.


    Regards catoro.

  24. #19
    V.I.P
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    481
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 68 Times in 48 Posts
    Hi halfax,

    Yes the VU+Duo will Do.

    The way I do it on the VU+ Uno is, load
    Blackhole 1.7.2 it has built in a (Server Tuner).
    Any STB that will accept the Blackhole image
    will work.
    You goto (Server Tuner in VU+) Enable Tuner.
    Then in menu, goto (Network) Note its
    IP Address (193.169 xx x).
    Open your Lappy, Connect to net, load
    in VU+s IP Address line, and up pops a
    vetual remote.
    As long as you have left the VU+ in
    Standby you can change to any channel
    and move (If Motorised) to any Sat.
    If the VU+ is left On you will only be
    able to view that Channel.

    BF.

  25. The Following User Says Thank You to Bbigfoot For This Useful Post:

    halfax (14-03-2012)

  26. #20
    V.I.P Aldo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,911
    Thanks
    2,902
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,419 Posts
    @Halfax & Bbigfoot

    Could you both please refrain from any further ******ing of this thread, it was started by " lee ref Protek 9760 ". if you both wish to carry on confering on the issue of the other receiver then start your own thread.

  27. The Following User Says Thank You to Aldo For This Useful Post:

    ALAN 1 (15-03-2012)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Protek Mk-1
    By Panto1 in forum Other Receivers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-12-2011, 07:56 AM
  2. Protek 9600 K19
    By frankiki in forum Other Receivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-09-2009, 12:18 PM
  3. Protek K18
    By Siegfried in forum Other Receivers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-08-2009, 11:19 PM
  4. protek 6900ip
    By BLODWEN in forum Other Receivers
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-08-2009, 11:23 PM
  5. Protek
    By skysat in forum Other Receivers
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-04-2009, 08:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •