Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: laptop sata harddrive in vu+duo

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    laptop sata harddrive in vu+duo

    hi all could i put a laptop 2.5" sata harddrive into my vu+duo without causeing it any problems as i dont have any other harddrives.

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    i have done mate in the past.

    it wont secure with the supplied bracket, so i just laid mine in the bay, after all we're not going to exactly shake rattle and roll the Duo are we, and i've never had any problems with it like this, if you're wary though, i suppose you can always knock up some sort of bracket.

    regards: canthackit

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    put my old hard drive out of an old computer. fitted perfect in the bracket supplied with the v+ duo

    regards jrbmw

  5. #4
    Member Cormac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What size hard drive does the VU+ Duo take?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    laptop hard drive

    just tried putting hard drive from old laptop in my duo, but now it wont boot !! any ideas ?

  7. #6
    V.I.P Detlef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,331
    Thanks
    327
    Thanked 1,054 Times in 651 Posts
    Don't know about the Vu but DBs don't like NTFS formatted HDDs so I use Partition Magic to format it into ext2 first. They are usually recognised but the DB still wants to format it - so I just let it

  8. #7
    V.I.P rasp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    272
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 71 Times in 41 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cormac View Post
    What size hard drive does the VU+ Duo take?
    I have a 1.5 TB Samsung and it works ok

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I have put a 2.5 400gb in mine and that works fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless Link on Laptop
    By johnhenry in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-03-2010, 10:25 PM
  2. Clarke HD5000 - SATA on pcb
    By pugwash57 in forum Clarke Tech
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-2008, 08:08 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •