Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Dark Knight and TrueHD

  1. #1
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Dark Knight and TrueHD

    Guy's and gals

    all my other TrueHD and DTS Master Audio Blu-Ray disc's play these the 2 fore mentioned audio's and they are automaticaly detected by my Amp.

    But on Dark Knight there's no option to select the appropiate Audio in this case it should be DD TrueHD but there's only DD 5.1, so it dosn't do what it says on the tin.

    suggestions please

    regards: canthackit

  2.    Advert



  3. #2
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Whats the AMP Model ?

    Should be a INFO Select Button on your AMP to Display info

    --

    I have a Toshiba HD DVD player and have a TRUEHD HD DVD but does not Display on AMP as TRUEHD .... Dunno why all this is such hard work!

  4. #3
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    got a Onkyo 806 Amp and a Panasonic BD30 player, as i say all i generaly need to do is whack the disc in and the Onk detects the sound format and displays it... but strangely TrueHD an Master Audio are not selectable manualy.

    On the Dark Knight case it says DD and DD TrueHD but go into the disc setup menu all there is a button that say's Audio that when clicking on it it either lights or goes out, tried both and still only DD 5.1.

    thats me snookered.

    regards: canthackit

  5. #4
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok got it sorted after studying manuals and onscreen menus DD TrueHD isn't listed under Audio

    it's listed under ............wait for it yes!!! languages of course your supposed to know this, then having found it you have to select it manualy 'cos the Onk wont detect it burying away there

    regards: canthackit

  6. #5
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    You what?!

    I have a ONYKO 606 -- Where is it again?

  7. #6
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    go into the disc menu then Languages on the left of the menu 2nd one down you'll see DD TrueHD listed just ok it.

    the Onk will then detect it, and away you go.

    regards: canthackit

  8. #7
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    go into the disc menu then Languages on the left of the menu 2nd one down you'll see DD TrueHD listed just ok it.

    ...On your AMP ? I think you mean your BlueRay player

  9. #8
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Errmmmmm

    i'm getting a bit confused here

    let me start from the begining put disc in BD player when disc runs select disc menu on there select languages you'll see DD TrueHD listed select it then exit, if you Onk is the same as my Onk when the movie starts it will detect the Audio.

    regards: canthackit

  10. #9
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Good point your Source ie Blue ~Ray player needs to output TrueHD! Just playing with my Toshiba HD DVD.

    Can you tell any difference between TRUEHD + 5.1 etc ????

    Found it Well done!

    But on AMP Comes up with DTS in RED not TRUEHD ... any ideas?
    Last edited by applematt; 03-02-2009 at 08:59 PM.

  11. #10
    V.I.P bonovox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,704
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 312 Times in 193 Posts
    I was going to ask about the differences in audio quality between DD5.1 and TRUEHD + 5.1. I know DD 5.1 is compressed but to the ear is there a big difference or much difference?

  12. #11
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @ applemat

    now you have stumped me mate.

    atm i can think of is did you let the movie? because the disc runs through various sound formats before the movie actualy starts.

    @ bonovox

    in a word "no" mate i can't tell any diiference...i think as has been mentioned before to notice the true lossless audio differencies in sound quality you need to have real high end eqiupement THX certified etc.... my setup aint that bad, but i'd like others to comment to see their opinions.

    regards: canthackit

  13. #12
    V.I.P bonovox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,704
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 312 Times in 193 Posts
    Thanks for the answer. I think dd5.1 will do for me for the time being.

  14. #13
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    yes mate i've just upgraded my amp to the Onkyo 806 previously had a Yamaha A2 thinking that the newer amps would be better, but the A2 drove my speakers a lot better than the Onk, and they are only 100 watt as opposed the the 806 which is supposed to be rated at 140 watts, but the Onk beats it on sound placement....i suppose what you loose on the swings etc.

    regards: canthackit

  15. #14
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Put a Dolby True HD HD DVD into my Player to Play via HDMI to the ONKYO 606 amp --
    - Yes thanks Canthackits for working out you need to SELECT TRueHD from the Audio Menu on your BlueRay/HD DVD player. BUT Problem is that on the AMP -- TRUEHD is not shown!

    So I went into R ic h e r Sounds today and was told its a known Bug So not to worry!

    @ bonovox

    The Sound on a Dolby TrueHD Disc via a 7.1 AMP like the 606 is this :

    TrueHD seems quiter more subtle (than Dolby 5.1) and much more intelligent and is amazing at creating a sound Blanket /arena - Watched only Batman Begins so far but its there creating amazing sound across all speakers. But its not like say watching SD then having HD, no no!

    Normal Dolby 5.1 is good enough -- I dunno if its worth the hundreds of pound for the upgrade - As I didnt have a AMP - I went for it - -Have some 5.1 Tonnoy speakers with it -- it really rocks.

  16. #15
    V.I.P bonovox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,704
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 312 Times in 193 Posts
    Thanks for the info guys. Yeah had my dolby digital 5.1 amp since 1997 and its a yamaha. Cost me 700 back then. Don't think I'm looking to upgrade for the time being unless I am forced to.

  17. #16
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    Yea -- I still have a Denon first generation Home Cinema Amp that cost 1,000 but stopped encoding Dolby Sound.

    This new upgrade is interesting -- WIth 8 SPeakers its going to Rock!

    I setup a mate today with a 10 year old Yamaha Dolby Amp for use with Sky movies -- He is very happy tonight! Just Added a 149 set of Tannoy 5.1 Speakers.
    Last edited by applematt; 05-02-2009 at 01:06 AM.

  18. #17
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    @ applematt

    does that mean TrueHD is just not displayed but the Amp still decodes it?

    if it is and they new about it it'd be helpfull if they told us up front.

    and yes! i agree with your findings on the HD sound formats.

    @bonovox

    yeah to fund my purchase of the onkyo i sold my Yamaha A2 originaly a 1000 Amp i paid 750 for it just sold it for 50 perfect working order, slightly begining to regret it

    regards: canthackit

  19. #18
    V.I.P applematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2,009
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
    There is a bug on the 606 Amps(may apply to the 806) that dont disply the Icon TRueHD.

    Do you get 'Bitstream,' on your blueray player as a audio option -- if so select that.

  20. #19
    V.I.P xanadu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    4,048
    Thanks
    132
    Thanked 206 Times in 126 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by canthackit View Post
    yes mate i've just upgraded my amp to the Onkyo 806

    Have you got the blue dots problem on 1080p like most other people with this amp?

    There is a hardware fix that can be done under warranty.

  21. #20
    V.I.P canthackit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    no mate no problem at all with it, and i do have a 1080p 30bit Pioneer

    regards: canthackit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •